Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Awakening
August 2013
Released: 2013, Sonic Attack
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

This albums kills from the opening note. Many bands start the first song on an album with a bit of an introduction or something to lead into the song proper but ‘Age Of Tyranny’ just rips right into it …a promising sign of things to come!

Victorius have released their second album THE AWAKENING a couple of years after their independent debut album UNLEASH THE TITANS. The German quintet have signed to Sonic Attack, the new label formed by ex-Noise founder Walterbach and we all know what an incredible ear he had for finding and supporting new talent! His track record is unparalleled! Victorius has put out a 47 minute long, 11-track album and has experienced some personal changes as the drummer and guitarist are new recruits since the last record.

Speed and Power laced with soaring melodies are the hallmark of this excellent young band. The vast majority of the songs are very fast but even the slower cuts like, ‘Lake Of Hope’ still have a sense of intensity and urgency. Most of the cuts fall in the 4-5 minute range with fairly conventional arrangements and all of them perform as just superb levels of musicianship. The record sounds good to as Lars Rettokovitz (Freedom’s Call) handled the production job. The album is loud and clear, with no major flaws. The voice of David is strong and powerful with a touch of grit and forceful delivery.

Victorius doesn’t sound like a lot of other bands but they still follow the classic Speed/Power Metal template that is so appealing.

THE AWAKENING has a great balance of speed, power, melody and top-notch soloing. They are certainly from the Dragonforce academy of speed for which I am very grateful. This is a band to watch in the future and to enjoy today!
Track Listing

1. Age of Tyranny
2. Starfire
3. The Awakening
4. Lake of Hope
5. Under Burning Skies
6. Black Sun
7. Demon Legions
8. Through the Dead Lands
9. Call for Resistance
10. Kings Reborn
11. Metalheart


David Baßin Vocals
Steven Dreißig Guitar
Dirk Scharsich Guitar
Andreas Dockhorn Bass
Rene Drums

Other reviews

Next review: » Victory - Instinct
Previous review: » Victorius - Heart Of The Phoenix

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.