Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

February 2007
Released: 2006, Firebox Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Velvetcut comes from the land of a 1000 lakes – Finland - and was formed by singer/songwriter Tomi in 2000. After a couple of member changes, the current line-up was finally solidified this year and the band signed on with Firebox Records in order to unleash their brand-new debut album.

The band plays dark and heavy goth metal whose Finnish roots can be heard immediately. Velvetcut’s music is similar to the well-known Paradise Lost, including the lack of guitar solos in their songs. Tomi has written all 10 tracks, and the material feels thoroughly composed and arranged. He paints a dark and sad musical landscape and it fits the spirit of the music well. Velvetcut have managed to do everything right. The production by Mikko Herranen fits the music like a glove, and both the musicians and singer are brilliant.

If you’re into music that sounds like Paradise Lost, Velvetcut is a perfect band for you. It’s fun to see that Finland still has something nice to offer musically. Even though each and every one of the ten songs are equally great, I have to pick my favorites, which are “Lady Solitude”, “Everyone To Please”, “Comfortable Silences”, “Dominoes”, “Where Love Has No Name”, “The Resident”, and “Blow Out The Flame”.
Track Listing

Lady Solitude
Everyone To Please
Room Of Our Existence
Comfortable Silences
The Chase
Where Love Has No Name
The Resident
Blow Out The Flame
Go Away


Tomi – lead vocals, guitar
Topi – guitar
Sami – bass
Andy – drums

Other reviews

» Thirteen
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Vendetta - Feed The Extermination
Previous review: » Velvet Revolver - Live In Houston (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.