Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Who We Are
August 2016
Released: 2016, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Hard-working U.K.-based rockers Vega quickly established themselves as a force to be reckoned with on their 2010 debut album, KISS OF LIFE. Full of energy, hooks, and memorable songs, the album is deservedly well-loved amongst melodic hard rock fans. Wisely, the band has used that stellar launching point to propel their career forward and remain a busy group, putting out three high-quality albums in four years (up to 2014). They seem to have taken a slight break after 2014’s excellent STEREO MESSIAH album, but they’re back in 2016 with album number four, WHO WE ARE.

Adorned with an amusing album cover of caricature-art drawings of the band, WHO WE ARE kicks off in fine fashion with the energetic “Explode”. The cut features all of the hallmarks that Vega’s known for: powerful vocals, deep hooks, sing along melodies, and well-crafted song writing. It’s a great start, but for the first time in their career, Vega isn’t able to follow through for the whole album. While there are no poor songs on the album, and in fact it contains one or two of their best songs ever (“Generation Now”), WHO WE ARE doesn’t quite match up to the band’s previous output. There are a few songs that just lack the energy they usually emit so effortlessly and it drags the album down from reaching the band’s usual heights.

That said, there’s much to enjoy here. Nick Workman puts in yet another flawless vocal performance, proving he’s one of the best hard rock singers working today. As a result of the band’s style, the guitars sometimes get overshadowed by James Martin’s strong keyboards, but when given the chance, Marcus Thurston let’s loose with a fiery solo or two. As usual, there is nothing to complain about in the band’s performance.

WHO WE ARE doesn’t quite match up to Vega’s established standards, but it’s still a great album that melodic rock fans will love.
Track Listing

1. Explode
2. We Got It All
3. Every Little Monster
4. Nothing is Forever
5. White Flag
6. For Our Sins
7. Generation Now
8. Ignite
9. Saving Grace
10. If Not You
11. Hurt So Bad


Nick Workman: Vocals
Marcus Thurston: Guitar
James Martin: Keyboards
Tom Martin: Bass
Dan Chantrey: Drums



Next review: » Vehemence - God Was Created
Previous review: » Vega - Stereo Messiah

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.