Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

March 2009
Released: 2008, Regain Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Lord of the Wasteland

In celebration of their silver anniversary—that’s 25 years, folks—Polish death metal machine, Vader, has gone back to the drawing board to revisit and re-record a collection of songs drawn from their illustrious career on XXV. Much like Iced Earth and Testament did, Vader decided against simply releasing a “hits” collection and re-recorded these songs with the current lineup utilizing vastly improved, modern production without really forsaking the essence of the original versions. With two CDs encompassing songs that first appeared on their 1989 demo, NECROLUST, right through to 2004’s THE BEAST, the band has certainly covered its bases. A solid Terrorizer cover is new, as is a cool intro and a truly horrible song by a Polish band named Kat but the remaining 23 tracks are Vader standards. Without going into too much detail about the songs themselves, a few keyboard flourishes courtesy of Vesania’s Siegmar have fancied several tracks up but otherwise, things remain fairly close to what everyone has heard before, just heavier, clearer and more brutal. Vader’s career speaks for itself and for those who cannot bear the thought of tampering with the originals, THE ULTIMATE INCANTATION, LITANY, REVELATIONS, etc. are all still out there but XXV is an interesting venture worth checking out if, for nothing else, three of the four members of the band that recorded these songs less than twelve months ago have left the group leaving Piotr “Peter” Wiwczarek to revamp Vader for its next incarnation.
Track Listing

1. InVADERs (Intro)
2. Chaos
3. Vicious Circle
4. Crucified Ones
5. Dark Age
6. Reign-Carrion
7. Silent Empire
8. Sothis
9. Incarnation
10. Reborn In Flames
11. Blood of Kingu
12. Carnal
13. Fractal Light
14. Red Passage
15. Black To The Blind

1. Kingdom
2. Wings
3. Xeper
4. Cold Demons
5. Final Massacre
6. Reign Forever World
7. Epitaph
8. Dark Transmission
9. Fear of Napalm (Terrorizer cover)
10. Wyrocznia (Kat cover)
11. Tyrani Piekiel


Piotr “Peter” Wiwczarek—Vocals/Guitar
Maurycy “Mauser” Stefanowicz—Guitar
Marcin “Novy” Nowak—Bass
Dariusz “Daray” Brzozowski—Drums

Next review: » Vaee Solis - Adversarial Light
Previous review: » Vader - Tibi Et Igni

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.