Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Anniversary Editions
April 2013
Released: 2013, AFM Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Former Accept frontman Udo Dirkschneider has fronted his own band U.D.O. now for longer than he fronted the band that made him famous. Here we are in 2013 and AFM Records have re-issued the first portion of his catalog including a BEST OF and a LIVE disc. His output from 2004’s THUNDERBALL onward is not a part of the Anniversary campaign.

This review is based upon a trio of these new Anniversary Editions: ANIMAL HOUSE, NO LIMITS and HOLY.

I am a fan of U.D.O. and apart from a few of the more popular tracks I was largely unfamiliar with these albums. I sat down one evening and listened these 3 titles back to back in the order in which they were released before writing this review.

1987’s ANIMAL HOUSE was where I began my listening experience. This was written with the help of his former band-mates so it is probably the most Accept-like of the bunch despite having a different band behind him.

1998’s NO LIMITS was quite different and a more polished effort. For this release it was almost as though they were aiming for radio play with the catchy chorus’. A fine album indeed.

1999’s HOLY is a bit more back on track than the previous album with more of an edge. The guitar is more prominent in the mix making for a more solid album.

For these new re-issues AFM has all the discs housed in jewel cases. The covers all have a silver border around them and are marked Anniversary Edition at the bottom. The booklet has the albums lyrics as well as some liner notes. All releases have bonus tracks and the discs themselves are all uniform looking. Once you get the full set they will look great on your CD Shelf. A fine set of releases.
Track Listing

Animal House
01. Animal House
02. Go Back To Hell
03. They Want War
04. Black Widow
05. In The Darkness
06. Lay Down The Law
07. We Want It Loud
08. Hot Tonight
09. Warrior
10. Coming Home
11. Run For Cover
12. Animal House (Live)
13. They Want War (Live)
14. In The Darkness (Live)
15. They Want War (Video)
16. Go Back To Hell (Video)

No Limits

01. The Gate
02. Freelance Man
03. Way Of Life
04. No Limits
05. With A Vengeance
06. One Step To Fate
07. Backstreet Loner
08. Raise The Crown
09. Manhunt
10. Rated X
11. Lovemachine
12. I'm A Rebel
13. Azrael
14. No Limits (Live)
15. The Key
16. Azrael (Remix)
17. Rated X (Demo)
18. Tough Luck (Demo)
01. Holy
02. Raiders Of Beyond
03. Shout It Out
04. Recall The Sin
05. Thunder In The Tower
06. Back Off
07. Friends Will Be Friends
08. State Run Operation
09. Danger
10. Ride The Storm
11. Cut Me Out
12. Holy (Live)
13. Raiders Of Beyond (Live)
14. Shout It Out (Live)
15. Thunder In The Tower (Live)
16. Recall The Sin (Demo)





Next review: » U.D.O. - Celebrator
Previous review: » U.D.O. - Animal House

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.