Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

October 2017
Released: 2017, Frontiers
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

GOTHICA seems like quite an appropriate title for a bands 13th studio album don’t you agree? It makes sense that many of the songs fall into a bit of a gothic theme…songs about Dracula, Jeckyl and Hyde, time travel (ala HG Wells,) darkness and more.

Virtually everything is still in place for Ten. Same record label, same self-produced style courtesy of founder Gary Hughes, Denis Ward is still helping out, the line-up is still the same, same logo, and another hot chick on the album cover and again they have delivered another generous album that falls just under an hour.

Ten so consistent it’s scary. We have another great batch of sturdy rockers, swelling ballads with acoustic piano, smooth understated keyboards, elegant and sophisticated song-writing that doesn’t always relay on a catchy chorus but always seems to have one as well. Some songs such as ‘In My Dreams’ and ‘Welcome to The Freakshow’ are your more conventional rockers and cuts like ‘The Wild King Of Winter’ lean slightly more into progressive territory. The band always seem to add a little sonic spice such as the occasional sound-effect, or some acoustic guitar here and there. Hughes voice stands up well after all these years as well as he weaves these gothic tales. I would like to see just a little more fire in some of the songs, maybe a bit more speed would help.

The band has been quite prolific lately with five albums and an EP in the last six years and perhaps that over-saturation or even just a lack of a break led to what I felt was a minimal drop in song quality. GOTHICA is still a very decent record but I feel it might not stand out as one of their all-time classics in a deep and still rapidly growing catalogue.
Track Listing

1. The Grail
2. Jekyll and Hyde
3. Travellers
4. A Man for All Seasons
5. In My Dreams
6. Wild King of Winter
7. Paragon
8. Welcome to the Freak Show
9. La Luna Dra-Cu-La
10. Into Darkness


Gary Hughes – vocals, Guitar
Dann Rosingana – lead guitar
Steve Grocott – lead guitar
John Halliwell – rhythm guitar
Darrel Treece-Birch – keyboards
Steve Mckenna – bass guitar
Max Yates – drums and percussion



Next review: » Ten - Heresy And Creed
Previous review: » Ten - Far Beyond The World

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.