Featured Events

Steelfest 2016
Brutal Assault 2016
Stonehenge Indoor 2016

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Storm Alert
August 2006
Released: 2006, Escapi Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

This album has already been reviewed on Metal-Rules by both Anders Sandvall and Lord of the Wasteland this year, so I’ll make this short and sweet. Check out their reviews for thorough background info on this once long-lost band.

Suffice it to say that Torture was one of the many could-have-beens of the late ‘80s thrash scene that released an E.P. and a single full-length before fading into obscurity. Said album, STORM ALERT, has been an underground classic since its release in 1989, delighting the few fans that have managed to track it down. Now re-released (with “Whips Pt.2” and “Dwell Into Surreality” as bonus tracks) in 2006, does this lost disc still have worth?

After a useless intro, the crushing Slayer-esque chords and of “Ignominious Slaughter” serve notice that STORM ALERT will be a thrash assault par excellence. Over the next hour, the band (mere teens at the time of writing this album!) blast through all of the revered sounds of the ‘80s thrash movement. Shredded guitars, sinister vocals (singer Tom Hicks also busts out the Araya screams when necessary), and thunderous drumming, STORM ALERT is textbook thrash. The production is spot-on for this music as well: dirty, with the guitars pushed WAY up to the front. Excellent.

My only complaint with this album is the same as Lord of the Wasteland’s: it’s too fucking long. The album could really have used some editing down. Two 4-minute instrumentals and a 7-minute joke Christmas song (I’m not kidding) are just not necessary. Still, this is some killer thrash, and kudos to Escapi Music for unearthing a true lost classic.
Track Listing

1) Intro
2) Ignominious Slaughter
3) Dwell Into Surreality
4) Blood Portraits
5) Slay Ride
6) Terror Kingdom
7) Storm Alert
8) Enter the Chamber
9) Whips Pt.1
10) Whips Pt.2
11) Deceiver


Tom Hicks: Vocals, Lead Guitars
J.D. Robins: Rhythm Guitars
Deric Gunter: Bass
Jerry Norland: Drums

Next review: » Torture - Storm Alert (Re-Mastered)
Previous review: » Torture - Storm Alert

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.