Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Threat Signal
January 2005
Released: 2004, Independent
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Lord of the Wasteland

Hailing from Hamilton, Ontario comes Threat Signal, a new (and I mean NEW) band who amazingly just played their first live gig three weeks ago. With an average age of 21 years old, this foursome plays punishing industrial-infused metal in the vein of Strapping Young Lad, Fear Factory and Meshuggah, but they also add clean vocals that sound similar to Soilwork or Mnemic to the mix. This is heavy stuff but also contains enough melody and hooks to stick in your head long after listening. For a demo, this is also surprisingly well-produced.

The double bass and razor-sharp riffing of “Rational Eyes” and “One Last Breath” are just jaw-dropping. This song comes across as fast, aggressive and in your face but then the chorus kicks in and the lush clean vocals take things to another level before Jon Howard’s screams take things full circle. The intro of “A New Beginning” slows things a bit and shows these guys aren’t a one-trick pony by incorporating some clean guitar. This type of music can bleed together in a hurry if the tempo is not changed and Threat Signal wisely does just that to keep things interesting.

Maybe it was growing up around all that Hamilton steel but the cold, industrial undertones of Threat Signal’s music has added something original to their influences that they so proudly display. Word on the street is that Threat Signal is being heavily scouted by labels. With this demo as their calling card, I’m not surprised. Technically proficient, fully headbangable and hungry for action…the ingredients that any metal label should be looking for in a band. 3 Inches of Blood had it and so does Threat Signal. Good luck, guys!

KILLER KUTS: “Rational Eyes,” “One Last Breath,” “A New Beginning”

**Thanks to Omer “Impson” Cordell of Seventh Frame Photography ( for the demo!
Track Listing

1. Rational Eyes
2. One Last Breath
3. A New Beginning
4. Inane


Jon Howard—Vocals
Kyle McKnight—Guitar
Rich Howard—Guitar
Eric Papky—Bass
Adam Mathews—Drums

Next review: » Threat Signal - Disconnect
Previous review: » Thraw - Injecting Hate

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.