Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Soulless
July 2011
Released: 2011, Earache
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

The Soulless have certainly built up an impressive resume during recent years. The quintet from Bath (southwest England) had a support slot with Bring Me The Horizon’s main support back in 2006. Two years later they were signed to Earache records, reaching worldwide acclaim with debut album Of Winter Born.

With the release of Isolated, 2011, The Soulless are back: bigger and bolder than before. ‘Unaltered’ wastes no time in kick-starting its brutal passage of heavy metallic riffs, interwoven solos and energetic drumming, which are reminiscent of As I Lay Dying.

Tracks such as ‘The Path’ and ‘Clones’ follow with flawless finger tapping solos that will get metal heads from across all the best Rock and Metal venues wielding their air guitars. Meanwhile ‘13th Morning’ shows the bands more sombre side, as a piano focused instrumental takes centre stage, showing that these guys aren’t bound by conventions that so many of their contemporaries are. The relentless drumming attack ‘Our Return’ rages like a tropical storm, in which guitars, bass and vocals collide in each other: a definite a mosh pit starter, if ever there was one. The acoustic outro of ‘Unite Us’ that bleeds into ‘You Mean Nothing to Me’ conjure a self-reflective setting in which all of life’s trials and tribulations, and more importantly overcoming them, could be viewed from. ‘Without heart’ cranks up the volume, for an all out war as both guitarists wade their through a musical narrative, one that is both bleak and bright: awesome stuff.

With slightly more on the experimentation side and a further exploration of their more delicate beauty these guys could be on the edge of something quite phenomenal, this album is certainly on the right tracks to such a destination.

Review by Ben Spencer
Track Listing

1. Unaltered.
2. The Path
3. Earth Bound
4. 13th Morning
5. New perspective.
6. Clones
7. Revelation
8. Our Return
9. Unite Us
10. You Are Nothing To Me


Andy Wardle - Vocals
Steve Brown - Guitar
Chris Ball - Bass
Dan Wilding - Drums
Kristan Dawson - Guitar

Other reviews

» Isolated
by UK Team

Next review: » The Stone - Nekroza
Previous review: » The Slayerking - Sanatana Dharma

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.