Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Skull
For Those Which Are Asleep
January 2015
Released: 2014, Tee Pee Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

First and foremost, I have to confess that I am a very big fan of the doom metal genre, and especially of Trouble. They are of the fewest doom metal bands that make this genre proud. Now, Eric Wagner decided to make his own band beyond Blackfinger and his doom metal ‘troubled’ kingdom. And Let There Be ‘The Skull’, Doom metal God said.

And after two years since its formation, the band just released its debut album, FOR THOSE WHICH ARE ASLEEP. This is a very good doom metal album with many psychedelic infusions in there. Of course, Eric Wagner’s voice is not as sharp as before, but it’s majestic anyway. The band as a whole doesn't have to show their credentials as they are proven already.

As for the record, that’s a well-written doom metal album, pure, solid, compelling and horrifying as it should be. All the songs are in the veins of Trouble (not so much as you might think), not due to hijacking or ripping off, but because they are the same people who made those milestones. There are moments that you can compare The Skull’s music with Down’s one (“Send Judas Down”). I think “Sick Of It All” is a completely sludge style song, a little far away from doom metal patterns containing compelling lyrics and vocals by Eric Wagner. This song reminds me a lot of Led Zeppelin as well.

All in all, FOR THOSE WHICH ARE ASLEEP is an exceptionally good doom metal album, finding the band making an album that respects their fans, and the fans will pay their own respect back to this new band with the old trademarks. After so many new doom/sludge/stoner bands who have released worthy albums, the old men know better and The Skull is the proof.
Track Listing

1. Trapped Inside My Mind
2. The Touch of Reality
3. Sick Of It All
4. The Door
5. Send Judas Down
6. A New Generation
7. Till The Sun Turns Black
8. For Those Which Are Asleep
9. Sometime Yesterday Mourning
10. The Last Judgment


Eric Wagner – vocals 
Lothar Keller – guitar 
Ron Holzner – bass 
Jeff "Oly" Olson – drums
Matt Goldsborough – guitar 

Other reviews

» For Those Which are Asleep
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

» For Those Which Are Asleep
by Helias Papadopoulos

Next review: » The Slayerking - Sanatana Dharma
Previous review: » The Skull - For Those Which are Asleep

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.