Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Scarr
November 2001
Released: 2001, Spikefarm Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Bernard Jenkins, Bror Te’ Larsen, Modesty Blaise, Rabalder, The Tramps, Tristania, The Sins Of Thy Beloved, Morgul... some band names that probably sound a bit familiar to you, don’t they?! A connection between all of these bands is the fact Per "The Scarr" Oskar Johansen, this Norwegian multi-instrumentally talented virtuosity, has been a part of all those bands. He made his musical career and discoveries in all of them and adopted all the necessary skills for mastering several different instruments for this new, rather alternative-sounding project of his, simply called The Scarr. Finland’s Spikefarm Records had guts to sign and to release their debut album titled ANIMALENEMY a short while ago.

In the name of all pure honesty, I have to say it’s pretty damn hard to put The Scarr’s music under any specific category (if that’s even necessary in the very first place?). There’s some of this, some of that - and indeed some of everything is trapped inside Mr. Johansen’s very own musical ambitions and visions. It’s sort of a mishmash of Pop/Rock, Metal, Gothic, Electro/Synth. Some of the better, sparkling moments from all of these genres is welded together without sounding overly progressive nor extremely technical. A great emphasis has been placed on melodies on ANIMALEMENY. The song called "Dies" speaks for great volumes for all that - not to mention that a cover of The Police’s "Every Breath You Take"! If nothing else, then at least "interesting...", so to speak.

Not really my daily cup of tea, but definitely a nice ´n´ relaxing music for Sunday mornings if going to church on Sundays ain’t your thing that much either.
Track Listing

01. Holy Wars
02. Burning Already
03. Every Breath You Take
04. You're Not God
05. Dies
06. Fucked Up, Smashed and Glorious
07. Biblical Tongue
08. Stillborn
09. Lies
10. Animalenemy


Pete Johansen - Vocals, violin
Nikki - Guitars
Björnar - Guitars
Dan - Bass
Maiken Olaisen - Keyboards
Stian - Drums

Other reviews

by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » The Scintilla Project - The Hybrid
Previous review: » The Ruins of Beverast - Exuvia

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.