Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Red Shore
December 2008
Released: 2008, Siege of Amida Records
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Hanntu

The Red Shore are a technical death metal five-piece from Geelong, Australia. The band suffered a horrendous tragedy while on tour in December 2007, when the van carrying the band members crashed on the highway between Brisbane and Sydney. Vocalist Damien Morris and close friend/driver Andy Milner were killed. The band decided to carry on with bassist Jamie Hope switching to vocals and drummer Jake Green’s brother Jon filled in on bass.

UNCONSECRATED features some competent but uninspiring technical death metal with some touches of deathcore – it’s really nothing you haven’t heard before from Necrophagist or Decrepit Birth or Job For A Cowboy or The Red Chord. Guitarists Jason Leombruni and Roman Koester present a brutal flurry of brutal picked riffs, blinding swept arpeggios and pinch harmonics, while Jake Green is a pretty good drummer, about a step above your average death metal blast-master. Jamie Hope on vocals sticks to a rumbling roar interspersed with occasional gurgled screams – no pig squeals here though thankfully. There are guest appearances from Eddie Hernan Hermida (All Shall Perish), Karl Schubach (Misery Signals), Brandan Schieppati (Bleeding Through) and Dan Weyandt (Zao). The problem is that none of the songs or riffs are really memorable. UNCONSECRATED is more of a momentary-enjoyment type of record – stick it on when you want brutal vocals, crushing guitars and machine-gun drums, but I don’t expect much replay value.

The DVD has an hour-long documentary that takes you through the history of the band, including the traumatic events of a year ago. With tributes from Eddie Hernan Hermida and Brandan Schieppati, you begin to appreciate how hard it was to pull the band together and continue, despite the loss of their frontman and a brother. It speaks volumes about the dedication and strength of the band members, even if you don’t think much of the music (and I don’t), and for that, credit must be given to these youngsters. The DVD also features a live performance filmed at the Hi Fi Bar in Melbourne on 24th May 2008.

However, strictly for fans of modern death metal or deathcore only.
Track Listing

1. The Garden of Impurity
2. Misery Hymn
3. Deception: Prologue
4. Slain by the Serpent
5. The Architects of Repulsion
6. Your Chariot Awaits
7. Rise And Fall
8. The Forefront of Failure
9. Nephilim
10. Vehemence the Phoenix


Jamie Hope - vocals
Roman Koester - guitars
Jason Leombruni - guitars
Jake Green - drums
Jon Green - bass

Other reviews

» Unconsecrated
by Hanntu

Next review: » The Reign of Terror - Sacred Ground
Previous review: » The Red Death - External Frames Of Reference

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.