Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Quill
Hooray! It`s A Death Trip!
January 2004
Released: 2003, SPV Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Simply put, The Quill play stoner 70s hard rock that fits in perfectly with bands like Alabama Thunderpussy, Dixie Witch, and Sheavy. The catch is that the band hails from Scandinavia, (OK, so it’s Sweden to be exact. But a friggin’ bio would have been nice!) and yet sound perfectly authentic in this decidedly non-Norse genre.

In 52 minutes (it feels much shorter) the band bash out 11 leaf-loved songs, their charge lead by the wickedly wild vocals of Magnus Ekwall. The man has a beautifully tripped voice that is powerful and quite non-Ozzy thank you. But it is the riffs that rule this record, Christian Carlsson wringing the shit out of his fret board to bless us with some of the catchiest, smartest riffs this year. And those solos…Oh yeah, lovin’ it.

Shockingly this is album number four for the band and yet I’ve never even heard of them until I got this disc. The band’s website is woefully under-updated with not nearly enough information on the band. C’mon guys, your music is too awesome to be going all low profile like this!

Anyway, I’m gonna cut this one short ‘cause even I can see that it’s going nowhere fast. Bottom line: The Quill rocks. The Quill rocks hard. You need to go and buy HOORAY! IT’S A DEATHTRIP!
Track Listing

1)Spinning Around
2)Nothing Ever Changes
3)Come What May
4)Too Close to the Sun
5)Handful of Flies
6)American Powder
9)Man Posed
10)Because I’m God


Magnus Ekwall: Vocals
Christian Carlsson: Guitars
Roger Nilsson: Bass
Jolle Atlagic: Drums

Other reviews

» Hooray! It`s A Death Trip!
by Waspman

» Full Circle
by UK Team

Next review: » The Red Death - External Frames Of Reference
Previous review: » The Quill - Full Circle

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.