Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The New Dominion
Procreating the Undivine
July 2013
Released: 2013, Neurotic Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

The New Dominion is a death metal four-piece hailing all the way from the mighty Holland. The band was formed back in 2006 and without wasting any time, they release their first EP...and Black Gleams the Eye already in March 2007. The EP success landed them a record deal with the highly acclaimed label Neurotic Records in May 2008 and the rest is history…

Since then the band has released a full-length studio album ...and Kindling Deadly Slumber (2009) and shared stage and toured with such artists, like Six Feet Under, Belphegor, Nile, Behemoth, the Dutch heavyweights Pestilence and also Norwegian black metallers Vreid.

June 2013, saw the release of Procreating the Undivine - the second full-length album released by The New Dominion. It’s a well-produced modern-day melodic death metal album that does not disappoint. Procreating the Undivine concept covers the ‘the never-ending acts of violence conceived by mankind’ while each song on the record is written from a perspective of different individuals.

The significant album artwork was designed by Niklas Sundin from Dark Tranquility and it resembles a symbolic connection to the concept; man’s inner workings resulting in a larger scale catastrophe.

Same as the artwork, music production level on Procreating the Undivine is top class. The album was produced in Final Focus Studio and Fascination Street Studios by Bart Hennephof (Textures) and Yuma van Eekelen (Ex-Pestilence and current drummer for The New Dominion).

Procreating the Undivine consists of overall lengthy songs that vary between 5 to 7 minutes in duration. Songs like “Perverted to Perfection” and “Ommatidea” introduce spot-on and up-tempo drumming, enormous death growls and virtuoso guitar parts to constitute the melodic background. “Atonement of Species” is a heavy track with a lot more groove added to it – chugging riffs, monstrous breakdowns, epic screams and brutal drumming are presented all at once. “Transcending the Blood” kicks off like what seems to be slow-paced track, only to burst into yet another killer death metal track with epic instrumental background and clean vocal parts to refresh and balance the sound.

The New Dominion also have found an extra space on Procreating the Undivine to include a short instrumental piece called “Matriarch Asphyxia” that contrasts the rest of the album’s material, yet fits in just right.

The great production on Procreating the Undivine clearly allows each instrument to stand out and make a mark. It’s good to see the vocals diverse from death grows and grunts to screams and clean vocals giving the classic death metal sound more modern approach.

Procreating the Undivine won’t change the course of modern death metal and will not introduce any new musical trends. It will simply be a pure pleasure to listen to, if you’re a fan of technical, well produced and well performed death metal.

The New Dominion influences vary from Hypocrisy to Tool, from The Haunted to Cannibal Corpse and from Gojira to Meshuggah, so feel free to check them out, if you enjoy listening to any of those bands.

Review by Anna Dumpe
Track Listing

1. Saliva
2. Perverted to Perfection
3. Atonement of Species
4. Ommatidea
5. The Eclectic Splitting of Tongues
6. Matriarch Asphyxia
7. Slaves of Ablaze
8. Transcending the Blood
9. Deceased Empires of Flesh
10. Down to the Osiris Flood


Michiel Oskam - Guitar
Tom Adams - Guitar
Yuma van Eekelen - Drums
Bart Schoorl - Vocals

Other reviews

» ...And Kindling Deadly Slumber
by Bruce Sanchez

» Procreating the Undivine
by UK Team

Next review: » The Nightstalker - Against the Anesthetist
Previous review: » The New Dominion - ...And Kindling Deadly Slumber

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.