Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Miles Between
April 2009
Released: 2009, Mediaskare Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Mr. Rock

With nine songs clocking in at just over 25 minutes, you know that the guys in The Miles Between are not wasting any time with DECEIVER. It’s hardcore and it’s to the point. There is very little variety to be found between the songs, and they sometimes meld together, which makes the listening experience seem very short.

Vocalist Chris hits the listener over the head with his Meshuggah-like vocals. Sometimes however, it comes across like shouting. It’s intense and aggressive for sure, but after a few songs, it can be a little much. Guitarists Mike and John are a tight unit, with Matt and Adam holding down the bottom end with style.

Though DECEIVER doesn’t offer a lot of variety, it does have some wonderfully creative and highly descriptive song titles (“Seawater Vomit”, “Piece, Piss + The Coolest Prick Of All Time”, and “Creepy Man Show”). And even though the titles are quite something, I do find there is a sameness found in each song. Yes, this is the band’s style, but a little more variety might needed to attract more of an audience.

One thing I do have an issue with is the CD booklet. It’s rather hard to read, and this makes me ask the question “what good does this do?” If you are going to go to the bother of adding your lyrics, it really does make sense to make them legible… doesn’t it?

The Miles Between have created a pretty good disc with DECEIVER, and if you are into the hard-core music of bands like Hatebreed, then it’s worth checking out. If it’s not your favorite genre, and it’s not mine, then it might become a little tiresome, even after only the 25 minutes found on the disc. For those who are into it, DECEIVER delivers.
Track Listing

1. “Apollyon”
2. “Northern Battersea”
3. “Creepy Man Show”
4. “Death + Its Kingdom”
5. “Redlands”
6. “Unswitched Breakers”
7. “Seawater Vomit”
8. “Insurgent Squared”
9. “Piece, Piss + The Coolest Prick Of All Time”


Chris – vocals
Mike – guitar
Matt – bass
John – guitar
Adam – drums

Other reviews

» Deceiver
by Mr. Rock

Next review: » The Mob - The Mob
Previous review: » The Mighty Nimbus - THE MIGHTY NIMBUS

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.