Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Loom Of Time
December 2016
Released: 2016, Aeternitas Tenebrarum Musicae Fundamentum
Rating: 1.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

"Nihilreich" is the debut album by Australian deathsters The Loom Of Time. Within seconds it becomes clear where they drew their inspiration from; they really do wear their influences on their sleeve, almost to the point of plagiarism. This is a band that worships at the alter of Carcass. While their lyrical themes seem to showcase misanthropy and other base human trappings (which of course differs from Carcass's gore drenched approach), musically it is pure Bill Steer aping, to the point that the man himself could have playing these songs.

The album opens with "The Ashes Of Your Fall", which is well performed but lacking in any individual identity. All the Carcass traits are here in abundance: the crunchy guitars, the lilting harmonies, the jackhammer drums. The vocals are even a carbon copy of Jeff Walker. "The Pinnacle Of Hypocrisy" continues proceedings in similarly yawnsome fashion. And so it goes on. "The Cries Of The Weak" and "The Greed Of Lesser Men" both sound like outtakes from "Heartwork", and "The Peons Of The Cosmos" almost sent me to sleep. Album closer "The Fight For The Subhuman" does little to lift the spirits with its hackneyed riffing and tiresome lyrical tirades.

"Nihilreich" is little more than uninspired bilge. It is well performed, and very well (perhaps overly so) produced. In all honesty Matthew J. Ratcliffe is something of a guitar virtuoso. He just needs to put away his Carcass collection and develop his own sound. As Judy Garland once said "Always be a first rate version of yourself and not a second rate version of someone else".

Review By Owen Thompson
Track Listing

1. The Ashes Of Your Fall
2. The Pinnacle Of Hypocrisy
3. The Cries Of The Weak
4. The Greed Of Lesser Men
5 The Peons Of The Cosmos
6. The Fight For The Subhuman


Brad Delforce - Bass
Steven Reid - Drums
Matthew J. Ratcliffe - Guitars/Vocals/Songwriting/Lyrics



Other reviews

» Nihilreich
by UK Team

Next review: » The Lord Weird Slough Feg - The Slay Stack Crows: Early Demos And Live Recordings
Previous review: » The London Quireboys - This Is Rock And Roll

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.