Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Exiled
Break the Chains
December 2011
Released: 2011, Self Released
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

Do you like your metal thrashy and melodic? If so, this one might cure what ails ya. From South Wales UK come The Exiled and their debut EP BREAK THE CHAINS. It’s a tasty 27-minute jaunt into familiar sounding territory, but territory that’s nonetheless enjoyable and energetic. Think bands like Sylosis, or a less noodly As I Lay Dying/Hatesphere/Trivium vibe and you’re in the right neighborhood.

Though each of the albums tracks (not counting an intro) are worthy contenders, The Exiled use up most of their gas on the first few tracks. The title track storms out the gate with loads of harmonies and punchy riffs, and follows up with the more “head down, horns up” stomp of “From Nothing (We are Everything).” “Sentience” and “Post-Human” meander about a bit as a mid-paced headbangers, each offering up moments of excitement, but don’t come off nearly as solid as their preceding tracks. The 8-minute “Shallow” closes the album, and while it’s also another mid-paced tune, the band amps up the melody factor, adding in some extra incentives to keep you listening.

Though the band’s been active since 2008, they’ve only been in their current lineup since early 2011. I think some of that shows through on BREAK THE CHAINS. I don’t want to give the impression that BREAK THE CHAINS is a bad album, far from it. It’s a good debut that sounds like a band trying to come together and find their sound. Give these guys another year of shows and getting things together and they could really do some damage. BREAK THE CHAINS is available through digital retailers or through the band’s website.
Track Listing

1. The Event Horizon
2. Break the Chains
3. From Nothing (We Are Everything)
4. Sentience
5. Post-Human
6. Shallow


James Andrews – Vocals
Richard Hughes – Guitars
Harry Tadayon – Guitars, Vocals
Sam Robinson – Bass
David Jones – Drums

Other reviews

» Break the Chains
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » The Faceless - Autotheism
Previous review: » The Evil Cell - The Evil Cell

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.