Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

February 2017
Released: 2016, Indie
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

I came across this debut album by these young Spaniards in late 2016. I was so impressed that they made my Top 20 for the year of 2016. Originally released independently those keen-eared folks who work Japan’s Spiritual Beast, recognized the potential of the band signed them right away.

The self-titled debut is a monster album, 11 tracks running well over an hour but it never feels like it drags. Sporting a very nice album artwork by esteemed artist Felipe Franco, the album looks great. I don’t know too much about the band, but I do know they have some superb song-writing and musical skills. The melodic Metal / Power Act hit all the right touchstones for an extremely enjoyable album. The band utilizes speed very well and the pace of the whole album is pretty quick, which I always enjoy. The clear expressive vocals of David Arrendondo are a highlight reminding me a bit of Michael Sweet of Stryper. He can hit some pretty amazing high notes like the one at the end of the song, ‘Modern Messiah’. He tells of tales of glory and battles with a bit of a sea-faring them on songs like, ‘Distant Shores’, and ‘Seven Seas’ which tie on the with the cool ship on the front cover, although they are not ‘Pirate-Metal’. ‘There are lots of sweet solos all over he place, but never getting too frantic. Oddly enough the band have two keyboardists, but for some reason the sound never too heavy on the keyboards. There is some decent keyboard guitar interplay. Most of the songs are in the 4-5 minute range with conventional composition, but they do stretch out a bit with two longer tunes, the nine-minute track, ‘Afterlife’ and the epic closer, ‘The Slaughter Of The Last Cursed’ at just under 12 minutes long.

All this is complimented by very fine production for a self-produced album. Highly impressive for a debut album. IT’s hard to explain why, these guys caught my ear, it just seems to be the right combination of things I like in the right order. I’d suggest any fan of clean, fast Power Metal to check out these guys.
Track Listing

1. Tales of Glory
2. Modern Messiah
3. Wormy Brains
4. On the Road Again
5. Afterlife
6. Forgotten Realms
7. Under the Skies of Asia
8. The Last Deadly Deeds
9. The Seven Seas
10. Distant Shores
11. The Slaughter of the Last Cursed


David Arredondo Vocals
Ious Núňez Guitar
Gauss Guitar
Diego Trueba Keyboards
David KBD Keyboards
Dani Rocks Bass
Jon Huarte Drums

Other reviews

» Taken
by JP

Next review: » Taker - It Is Finished
Previous review: » Take Over and Destroy - Take Over and Destroy

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.