Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

July 2014
Released: 2014, Frontiers Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Always unfairly lumped in with the hair band era, more by virtue of timing than style, the hard rockin’ Tesla has not only survived the death of many of their peers but thrived, to the point where the band has a hugely dedicated fan base, still capable of keeping the band in the spotlight (Proof: this album debuted in the Top 25 in North America, with ~14,000 copies sold in the first week). Part of the band’s success over the years has been the remarkable stability they’ve shown; with just one member change (Dave Rude taking over for original guitarist Tommy Skeoch). Another reason is the band’s steadfast commitment to their music, refusing to change or bend to trends.

That said, their previous two albums (INTO THE NOW and FOREVERMORE) heavied things up a bit too much so it’s a great satisfaction to me that the band has returned to their roots and released a record that would fit easily within the confines of their spectacular first four albums. Indeed, SIMPLICITY is chock full of the down-home guitar rock goodness this band is known for. Rockers, anthems, heartfelt ballads, it is all here and the band has never sounded better. Surprises include the swampy Lynyrd Skynyrd-like “Cross My Heart”, the bouncy “Flip Side!”, and the pure rocking of “Ricochet” and “Break of Dawn”, the likes of which hearken back to the band’s best heavy tracks like “Edison’s Medicine”. Add it all up and you easily get Tesla’s best album since the equally superb BUST A NUT twenty years ago.

There’s really nothing more to say; SIMPLICITY is a triumph of hard rock pedigree and a testament to the fact that a band can stick to its guns, ignore trends, and still be successful. Long live Tesla!
Track Listing

1. MP3
2. Ricochet
3. Rise and Fall
4. So Divine
5. Cross My Heart
6. Honestly
7. Flip Side!
8. Other Than Me
9. Break of Dawn
10. Burnout to Fade
11. Life is a River
12. Sympathy
13. Time Bomb
14. ‘Til That Day


Jeff Keith: Vocals
Frank Hannon: Guitar, Vocals, Piano, Bass
Dave Rude: Guitar, Bass, Vocals
Brian Wheat: Bass, Vocals, Piano
Troy Luccketta: Drums, Percussion



Other reviews

» Replugged Live
by EvilG

» Replugged Live
by JP

» Into the Now
by Lord of the Wasteland

» Into The Now
by JP

» Real to Reel
by Celtic Bob

» Real to Reel 2
by Celtic Bob

» Alive In Europe!
by Waspman

» Simplicity
by Waspman

» Time\'s Makin\' Changes-The Videos & More (DVD)
by JP

» Comin' Atcha Live! 2008 (DVD)
by JP

» Mechanical Resonance Live
by Waspman

Next review: » Tesla - Time's Makin' Changes-The Videos & More (DVD)
Previous review: » Tesla - Replugged Live

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.