Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Real to Reel
December 2007
Released: 2007, Ryko
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Tesla is one of the most consistent bands in the Hard Rock and (to some) Metal field. They never fail to release a quality package of material. In the past maybe an album or two haven’t sold as well as previous efforts BUT they were still solid releases.

This release is the first time ever in the band’s history that they’ve released a product without all 5 of the original members. Original guitarist Tommy Skeoch is absent from this recording and is replaced by Dave Rude. For Tesla fans this may be a bit of a shock that they released a product without Tommy but given his known personal battles it isn’t a drastic surprise. We can only hope that this is a temporary situation and he will return soon.

Included here on this covers disc (which is becoming the ‘Norm’ these days) are 13 Classic Rock tracks. You get to hear Jeff belt out some great tunes from the likes of Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Thin Lizzy and James Gang and many others. While the band stays true to the original songs they do inject that Tesla sound to them. Jeff has one of the most distinct and easily recognizable voices in the rock world and hearing him sing songs like “I’ve Got A Feeling” and “Thank You” is interesting yet somewhat refreshing. On a song like “Thank You” where Robert Plant sings the original with perfection and it is etched into our minds for ever so long upon hearing even the slightest difference creates mixed feelings. It is here you have to come to terms that Tesla didn’t set out to top the original or do a note for note match of it, they just went in and had fun recording some of their all time favorite songs. Musically their renditions of the cuts are close to those originals just slightly updated sound.

A nice collection of Classic Rock songs as done by an excellent band. Hopefully this is just a ‘filler’ disc to tie us over until the next studio album of original material.
Track Listing

1. Space Truckin' (Deep Purple)
2. Walk Away (James Gang)
3. Hand Me Down World (Guess Who)
4. Bad Reputation (Thin Lizzy)
5. Thank You (Led Zeppelin)
6. I've Got A Feeling (Beatles)
7. Day Of The Eagle (Robin Trower)
8. Ball Of Confusion (Temptations)
9. Rock Bottom (UFO)
10. Stealin' (Uriah Heep)
11. Bell Bottom Blues (Eric Clapton)
12. Honky Tonk Women (Rolling Stones)
13. Dear Mr. Fantasy (Traffic)


Jeff Keith Vocals
Frank Hannon - Guitar
Brian Wheat - Guitar
Troy Luccketta - Drums
Dave Rude - Guitar

Other reviews

» Replugged Live
by EvilG

» Replugged Live
by JP

» Into the Now
by Lord of the Wasteland

» Into The Now
by JP

» Real to Reel
by Celtic Bob

» Real to Reel 2
by Celtic Bob

» Alive In Europe!
by Waspman

» Simplicity
by Waspman

» Time\'s Makin\' Changes-The Videos & More (DVD)
by JP

» Comin' Atcha Live! 2008 (DVD)
by JP

» Mechanical Resonance Live
by Waspman

Next review: » Tesla - Real to Reel 2
Previous review: » Tesla - Mechanical Resonance Live

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.