Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Eternity-The Best 93-98
April 2004
Released: 2004, Lion
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Lion music has picked up the rights to the Takara back catalogue and have put this semi-rarity out on the market. Originally released on Zero back in 1993, I believe to full-fill a record deal, this best of is a bit of a treat.

As a compilation it is pretty average in many respects. It has an uninspired cover, no lyrics, a few kinda blurry photos, and not much else. It is pretty low budget. There is a cool liner note/commentary from founder and stalwart Neal Grusky talking about the history of the band.

The CD has great sound, great production and great songs. As the title indicates it is a best of covering five years or more specifically the bands first three studio CD’s. There is a good value having 16 cuts and two unreleased acoustic versions of the songs ‘Restless Heart’ and ‘Your Love’.

For those of you who are unfamiliar Takara proudly waved the flag of melodic metal all through the 90’s and are still active today. After the usual line-up changes in the early days the band were fortunate enough o secure the services of Jeff Scott Soto for the first three albums. Such a heavy hitter brought the band that little bit of extra credibility that might have been sorely needed in a time when the style they played was, well, not in style.

Great melodic metal, reminding me of times of classy bands like Tyketto where the strength of the band lay in the songs and the cohesive sound they put forth. This Best of offers little to the long-time fan but as an introductory package to the bands sterling early catalogue it comes highly recommended. If Takara is your band, crank this grade up a notch.
Track Listing

1. Spotlight
2. Two Hearts Together
3. Restless Heart
4. Fallen Angel
5. Colours Fade
6. When Darkness Falls
7. Days of Dawn
8. Your Love
9. December
10. Last Mistake
11. Lonely Shade of Blue
12. Take U Down
13. Your Love 2night
14. Don’t Wanna Be Alone
15. Blind In Paradise
16. Say U’ll Stay
17. Restless (acoustic)
Your Love (acoustic)


Neal Grusky-Guitars
Jeff Scott Soto- vocals
Various others- bass, drums, keyboards



Next review: » Takara - Perception of Reality
Previous review: » Taka Minamino - Blood Rain

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.