Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Keepers of the Faith
September 2010
Released: 2010, Century Media
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Demonator

Unfairly painted for years now as another in a lengthy queue of pretenders to Hatebreed's hardcore throne, there's certainly never been any questioning Terror's commitment to their cause. Reveling in a work ethic that would leave most jaws gaping, their past few studio outings in particular have shown off an steadily increasing level of payback.

If its predecessors pointed to some extraordinary potential KEEPERS OF THE FAITH is where it all comes together. Tossing a vast amount of modern hardcore's cliches (breakdowns aren't so much a constant as an anomaly for starters) and replacing it with traditional values, opener "Your Enemies Are Mine" signs off with a coda that might have carried away the blessing of Vinnie Stigma himself. "Stick Tight" - a chorus to the age-old theme of loyalty and respect - is similarly vintage in its make-up, while "You’re Caught" invites a sing-along just much as it does flaying fists.

Still, there's mistaking this for anything other than a Terror record; for one thing Scott Vogel's rasp remains as gritty and imposing as ever and producer Chad Gilbert has teased out a sufficiently thick and sludgy guitar sound to ensure the balance between old and new school is kept even-handed. That it's the finest release Terror have put their name to seems almost fitting then in a year that's played host to some stunning genre albums and with Madball set to add their name to a growing list of whose who putting out music this year, 2010 appears to fast be turning into a vintage year for modern hardcore.
Track Listing

1. Your Enemies Are Mine
2. Stick Tight
3. Return To Strength
4. The Struggle
5. Shattered
6. You're Caught
7. Dead Wrong
8. Keepers of the Faith
9. Stay Free
10. Hell And Back
11. Only Death
12. The New Blood
13. Defiant


Scott Vogel - Vocals
Martin Stewart - Guitar
Nick Jett - Drums
David Wood - Bass Guitar Jordan Posner - Guitar

Next review: » Terror - Live By The Code
Previous review: » Territory - The Curse

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.