Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Sorrows Path
Doom Philosophy
December 2014
Released: 2014, Iron Shield Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

The five piece from Greece are back with latest offering Doom philosophy! Sorrows path open up the album with a science fiction dramatic scene track, which quietly grows in tension and excitement until a few brief words christen the eerie atmosphere. As the album slips into second track “tragedy” there is an instant collide of Kreator enemy of God drumming with clean mushroom head vocals fighting against each other.

It's not the strongest song to have chosen to start off the album. That being said it does have some points of musical treats often found in these thrash almost moments. The solo is pretty solid as it goes back into the thrash moments. However, Third track "a dance with the dead" should have been the track the initial opener went into, it's high in atmospherics, until the vocals float in and slow the music down a bit. That is until the warmly welcomed death metal vocals come in of course, those work superbly against this kind of backdrop, turning the track into something of a Dethklok tribute.

"Brother of life" begins again with another triumphant full on display of keyboard synths, slightly slower and chunkier than previous tracks, there is something darker and more appealing about this track. As the song starts to go into more of a deep power metal opus that's actually quite enjoyable. A slow and steady solo is defiantly appealing on this track.

"Everything's changed" enters a new realm of full on orchestrated delights, it does open with the expectancy of a female vocalist to soar over the grimy backdrop. You are instead met with wincing deep injured animal sounding grunts that are a bit melodramatic. Going for an old school iced earth sound. "The king with a crown of thorns" enters into a nice slow rhythm that is gentle and soothing on the ear.

"The Venus and the moon" again reaffirm that this is an album full of quick fire verses and crunching choruses. It's easy to accompany it with "Epoasis" in a yin/yang fashion as "Epoasis" is the doomier darker twin who can't seem to be happy about the previous track. With its overwhelming amount of Gothic vocals and morose guitar work. It's so far the best song on the album. Breaking away from this Union idea “Clouds Inside Me” is also an interesting piece, with a little more crunch to the sound, and a fitting guitar. The vocals do grow on you after a little while, as they can be a bit draining in places but as an overall sound they work quite well.

There seems around mid-end of doom albums to always be a song circulating the idea of gloom or darkness in the title, and often this one is the worst track on the album. Sadly this effort of "darkness" is rather terrible, there's a incident with a whore, bad acting and above all it’s just a bit drab. Which is a shame, there was a vein hope it wouldn't turn into another song for the gothic metal "gloom", "darkness" song title wayside.

The spiralling end of the album track "Damned (o) Fish/L.S.D.) (Life Sexuality Death)" that's like a cocooning spender of guitar licks and solid disintegration. The further this album goes along the similarity to communic becomes very strong as the lyrics are rich and the tones are hard lined but quite well constructed.

It seems the band are really trying to get a new sound and try it out wherever possible. Although that being said the time changes keep the ear busy, hard to pin point a reference point on where to listen but busy.

There seems to be a lot this band want to put across, almost in places too many cooks in the kitchen but at the same time it's a fairly robust and solid album if you like albums along the Djent-thrash lines.

Review by Ashlinn Nash
Track Listing

1. First Beam Of Darkness Into Light (Intro)
2. Tragedy
3. A Dance With The Dead
4. Brother Of Life
5. Everything Can Change
6. The King With A Crown Of Thorns
7. The Venus And The Moon
8. Epoasis
9. Clouds Inside Me
10. Darkness
11. Damned (O)fish/L.S.D. (Life Sexuality Death)!?...


Stavros Giannakos: Bass
Angelos Ioannidis: Vocals
Fotis Mountouris: Drums
Kostas Salomidis: Guitar
Giannis Tziligkakis: Guitar

Other reviews

» Doom Philosophy
by UK Team

Next review: » Sorrowseed - The Extinction Prophecies
Previous review: » Sorrowful Angels - Ship In Your Trip

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.