Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Godless Arrogance
April 2014
Released: 2014, Hammerheart Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Sammath began crafting their sound around 1994, combining the most deadly aesthetics of Death, Speed and Thrash Metal. Their upcoming release Godless Arrogance is set to raise the bar even higher for these guys as they venture toward their most vicious frontier yet.

‘Shot In A Mass’ erupts in full fronted rage, with thunderous drums, high pitched shrieks and dissonant guitars. The band disregard any form of melody as they plough through with a procession of agonizing vocals and droning riffs.

Following in a similar vein, ‘Fear Upon Them’ sprays wildly out of control with sinister guitar work and speedy drums that keep the adrenaline running high. Meanwhile the demonic sounding ‘Thrive In Arrogance’ lunges deeper into the band’s bloody sound with an all out drum assault on the senses.

The duration of the record pulls upon many of the aforementioned qualities with strong speed metal influences and black metal rasps. ‘Through Filth and The Remains Of Man’ charges forward with a barbaric force, and remains one of the records highest points.

Closing with the visceral ‘Nineteen Corpses Hang In The Mist’ the vocals display a broad range of banshee led wails and deep throated growls. The filth stained riffs and brooding bass provide extra weight as Sammath crank everything up on the highest order with their final offering of the record.

This may not be the most revolutionary piece of music out there and it certainly doesn’t explore anything that hasn’t already been done by other bands but what makes this record worth your time is the unyielding chaos it evokes which will no doubt have fans of the more extreme subgenres of the Metal world uniting under the beast that is Sammath. Great work guys.

Review by Ben Spencer
Track Listing

1. Shot In Mass
2. Fear Upon Them
3. Godless
4. Thrive In Arrogance
5. This World Must Burn (Hammer Of Supremacy)
6. Through Filth And The Remains Of Man
7. Death (Hunt Them Down)
8. Nineteen Corpses Hang In The Mist


Jan Kruitwagen, all guitars, vocals.
Ruud Nillesen, bass
Koos Bos, drums

Other reviews

» Godless Arrogance
by UK Team

» Godless Arrogance
by UK Team

Next review: » Sammy Hagar - Live Hallelujiah
Previous review: » Sammath - Godless Arrogance

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.