Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

February 2015
Released: 2015, Season Of Mist
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Addison Herron-Wheeler

This past August, beloved Icelandic atmospheric rockers Solstafir released their fifth studio album, entitled ÓTTA. I’m a new fan of this band, having caught them a few months ago on tour with Pallbearer, but my research has shown that they have quite a following already and a decent fan base. For those who are unfamiliar, the group plays an experimental blend of rock n’ roll that incorporates fiddle, piano, both screamed clean vocals, and various musical styles. Their sound is very unique and it is hard to compare them to existing bands, but they definitely take a “Pink Floyd” approach to rock, not shying away from long ballads, concept albums, and strange interludes.

Since becoming a fan I have checked out their back catalogue, so I can fairly say that this album fits strongly into the cannon. It fits the mold of their recent years where they have become more experimental, and strayed away from their older stuff, which had no clean vocals and was more in the metal camp. I am not sure about the lyrics because they are all in Icelandic, but based on the translations, the album is called “Night” and each song is named after a time of day. This makes a lot of sense, as the whole record takes you through a journey from darkness to light, and really works better when listened to in one sitting instead of track by track.

Since this is being reviewed in the rock category, I went ahead and gave it a “five,” my reasoning being that if you are reading rock reviews on a sight called Metal Rules then you like metal tinged and influenced rock, and if you like that, this should be right up your alley. Those who can’t stand experimental or proggy stuff and only like punk-influenced heavy rock may be the exception, but for the most part, this is a must hear for those who like hard and heavy rock n’ roll.
Track Listing

1. "Lágnætti" (Midnight)
2. "Ótta" - (Night)
3. "Rismál" - (Dayrise)
4. "Dagmál" - (Morning)
5. "Miðdegi" - (Midday)
6. "Nón" - (Noon)
7. "Miðaftann" - (Mid Evening)
8. "Náttmál" - (Nighttime)


Aðalbjörn Tryggvason: Guitars, vocals
Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson: Guitars
Svavar Austmann: Bass
Guðmundur Óli Pálmason: Drums, percussion

Other reviews

» Otta
by Addison Herron-Wheeler

Next review: » Solstice - Demo 2009
Previous review: » Solsikk - VOLATILE TERRITORY

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.