Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Beyond The Infinite
February 2015
Released: 2014, Victor Entertainment
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

As 2014 drew to a close, I noticed that Soilwork released a little-publicised EP called BEYOND THE INFINITE as a follow-up to their 2013 double album. I stopped following these pioneering Swedes (more an international band now) over a decade ago, after FIGURE NUMBER FIVE. Although I checked out a couple of tracks off of STABBING THE DRAMA and SWORN TO A GREAT DIVIDE, those songs did nothing for me and I effectively abandoned the band. So after so along away from Strid and co., I thought this EP was a good way to see where the band was at.

As it turns out, they’re not that far from where they were in 2003. The five tracks on this EP are exactly what I expected to hear from Soilwork: metalcore-ish heavy metal that occasionally shows flashes of the melodic death metal scene they helped popularize. Strid’s vocals effortlessly move between the screams & growls of old, and the clean singing he’s brought into the music over time. There’s nothing surprising at all, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. After all, Soilwork are no longer the young, furious metallians they once were. That said, they do still have that in them, if only in small doses, as the raging intro of “Forever Lost in Vain” attests. Rather than innovate, the band have clearly found the formula they like and have spent considerable time perfecting it to their standard, and from that perspective, BEYOND THE INFINITE is a triumph.

If you’ve stuck with Soilwork and enjoy their recent albums, then this EP is an obvious purchase for you. If, like me, you left Soilwork behind, this EP might just be the thing to help you reconnect with the band.
Track Listing

1. My Nerves, Your Everyday Tool
2. These Absent Eyes
3. Resisting the Current
4. When Sound Collides
5. Forever Lost in Vain


Bjorn “Speed” Strid: Vocals
David Andersson: Guitar
Sylvain Coudret: Guitar
Sven Karlsson: Keyboards
Ola Fink: Bass
Dirk Verbeuren: Drums



Next review: » Soilwork - Figure Number Five
Previous review: » Soilwork - A Predator`s Portrait

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.