Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Forever Abomination
November 2011
Released: Octo, Prosthetic Records
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: Carlos Llanas

Skeletonwitch has been kicking around the metal scene since 2003. Their style of metal is a

fusion of thrash/black/death metal. With three full-length albums already under their

belts, their fourth album "Forever Abomination" was released on October 7th, 2011. I had a

chance to check it out and I, personally, was not impressed by the album as a whole. There

are, however, some likeable aspects of the album.

Firstly, the thing that caught my attention was the album cover obviously. It's a pretty

close description of the album. A tree-like abomination garnishes the cover. It's dark,

creepy, and I believe the artist did a good job capturing what the album is about. The music on the other hand, was the typical Skeletonwitch mixture. They get melodic, then enter the death metal vocals, sprinkle a thrash riff on top of it, and you get Skeletonwitch. After a while it all gets a little cut and dry. Nothing too impressive. Also, the sound of the kick drum doesn't sound powerful enough either, It sounds too "clicky" and not enough "BOOM". I'm sure if you liked the first few Skeletonwitch albums you will probably like this one. I, on the other hand, enjoyed the first two albums, but quickly grew bored of them. The same goes for this album. You need a record that is going to be memorable, and can enjoy many times over.

I did like some of the riffs on this album though. There are some shredders in there that

are well written and executed. Another thing I liked about the album was the production. It

sounds very good. If this album would have taken a different step musically instead of the

same ol' Skeletonwitch formula, I would have scored it a little higher.

To sum it up, the album was a bit bland for me. It doesn't mean that everyone who listens to it will feel the same. If I had some advise for these guys, it would be to go back to their roots and find a sound that stands out. I've heard their sound many times over. Jens Becker once said "Be original...or you will be gone very soon."
Track Listing

1. This Horrifying Force (The Desire to Kill)
2. Reduced to the Failure of Prayer
3. Of Ash and Torment
4. Choke Upon Betrayal
5. Erased and Forgotten
6. The Infernal Resurrection
7. Rejoice in Misery
8. Cleaver of Souls
9. Shredding Sacred Flesh
10. Sink Beneath Insanity
11. My Skin of Deceit


Scott Hedrick-Guitars
Nate Garnette-Guitars
Chance Garnette-Vocals
Evan Linger-Bass
Dustin Boltjes-Drums

Next review: » Skeletonwitch - Serpents Unleashed
Previous review: » Skeletonwitch - At One With The Shadows

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.