Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Six Feet Under
April 2013
Released: 2013, Metal Blade Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Six Feet Under return with their much awaited new album “Unborn”, released this month through Metal-Blade Records, and my oh my they have not disappointed.

Six Feet Under’s career seems to have delivered time after time, and this new effort is no different, offering their own recipe of death metal which is brutal and easy listening at the same time. The fantastic production of the album lends to it’s genius, and the musicianship is to be commended, as one would expect. The opening depicts a dark, melodic approach to the album whilst giving some tell tale signs of what’s to come.

Immediately striking is the musicianship of “Prophecy”, with so much groove it’s like Boogie Nights on Acid. This is a true head-banger and is not what you would expect from the blanket term “Death Metal”. The distinct lack of mindless snare-bashing and the presence of composed and unique guitar hooks and some fantastic drumming makes this album one of the most promising to be released so far.

This album grants me the image of being sat down at a death metal concert, appreciating what I’m hearing. I am not sure whether this is good or bad, whilst it doesn’t give me the same feeling as most Death Metal albums (seeing how fast I can injure my neck whilst going mental), it definitely offers me something more in a way. Whilst I may contemplate what makes this album different, I can only say it’s a very composed piece of work, not over done, and the level of moderation and diversity in terms of musicianship sees to have taken precedence here.

I use the words “Diversity” and “Moderation” aptly, as when it comes to songs like “Alive to Kill You” the tempo steps up considerably, however still maintaining the most satisfying of grooves and one hell of a song structure that leaves you guessing and heavily anticipating the next song.

I can see this album sitting in the trophy cabinet of 2013 Metal Albums, even as a dark horse entrant, only time till tell. The band will be heading out to festivals this year including Germany’s Metalfest and France’s Hellfest to show off their new little toy.

All I can really say with regard to “Unborn” is buy this album. It’s the kind of slow, groovy, thrash-like death metal that will appeal to most metalheads and will add to the band’s already sterling reputation.

Would I buy this album? Yes, it has a fantastic arrangement, song lengths peak at an average of 3 minutes and the musicianship is nothing short of phenomenal, if not fantastically simple.

Review by Andrew May
Track Listing

1. Neuro Osmosis
2. Prophecy
3. Zombie Blood Curse
4. Decapitate
5. Incision
6. Fragment
7. Alive to Kill You
8. The Sinister Craving
9. Inferno
10. Psychosis
11. The Curse of Ancients


Chris Barnes - Vocals
Steve Swanson - Guitars
Kevin Talley - Drums
Jeff Hughell - Bass
Ola England - Guitars

Next review: » Six Feet Under - Undead
Previous review: » Six Feet Under - Torment

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.