Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Price of Faith
August 2004
Released: 2004, Embryo Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

“A new band from Orange County? Isn’t that the place that spawned like 4,655 pop-punk bands back in the 90’s? Oh man, this is gonna be awful”. Such were my thoughts on receiving this disc. Well, thankfully the five lads that comprise Six pound out something decidedly different than The Offspring and their ilk. Rather, to my ears Six plays a groove-metal akin to what Fear Factory might sound like if they got rid of their technological influences and wrote songs that were a little more catchy, and sadly, mall-influenced (but only slightly!).

With only a prior EP to their name, THE PRICE OF FAITH is Six’s debut full-length (at a brisk 35 minutes) and it slams in to gear quickly with the furious “Something’s Got To Give” (after a very misplaced intro that is identical to Iron Maiden’s “Number of the Beast” Come on guys, don’t go treading on sacred ground). This song sets the tone for the rest of the album with Lauren’s rough vocals raging atop the mid-paced riff and the surprisingly potent bass lick. Many of the songs follow this pattern closely, though there are variants from this rule (speedier “Everything”, the slow burning “Power of Suggestion”, and the droning “In My Life” come to mind). There’s also an apparent Godsmack influence felt on this disc, as “Leave Me Dry” attests.

Truthfully, this disc is probably a little to mainstream and “nu” for most tr00 metalheads to get into, but that’s not to say that it’s a bad album. There are some enjoyable songs on here and enough potential shown to point to a superior second disc down the road. This one is for metal newbies looking for an avenue to the truly heavy or metalheads who don’t mind hanging out at the mall every now and then.
Track Listing

1) Intro
2) Something’s Got To Give
3) Everything
4) We All Lie
5) Stranger, Killer, King
6) The Only Ones
7) In My Life
8) Leave Me Dry
9) Sad State of Apology (I Want It All)
10) Lay Back
11) Power of Suggestion


Lauren: Vocals
Alfunction: Guitars, Programming
Rob Woods: Drums
Deven Pahl: Bass
Frank Abbateecola: Guitars

Next review: » Six Dead Horses - Horn Tusk Antler
Previous review: » Situs Magus - Le Grand Oeuve

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.