Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

A New Day
March 2006
Released: 2006, Napalm Records/Sound Pollution
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Sinamore are three childhoodfriends Mikko/Jarno and Miika which started to play together and released two demos. Tommi joined the band in 2002 when Sinamore was finishing up the recordings of their third demo. It took the band 5 demos before anything positive happened. It was then a little Japanese label got their eyes on Sinamore and the band immediately started to work on their debut album. It was also about then that the guys problems began, the label didn’t do what they promised and it all ran out in the sand. But Sinamore wasn’t satisfied with that and began the search for a new loyal recordlabel. Next label in line to sign contract with the guys was Napalm Records and the label gave the guys the confidence and trust to let them re-record their debut album again and re-do the production as well as adding a few more songs.

Sinamore plays goth music Finnish style. You can hear at once where the guys come from without even looking in the booklet. They have sharpened their sound by adding more edgy guitars so the fair description of Sinamore’s music must be goth metal. You can hear influences from The Mission, The Cure, Sisters Of Mercy but also Katatonia, HIM and Paradise Lost. Sinamore should be given credit for not using keyboards and instead relying on guitars. All of the 50 minutes and the 10 songs are solid as rock, they’re so well written that it’s hard to pick any favorite tracks because the band have made a genuine goth metal album that’s absolutely great.

The excellent production was done in Woodbine Garden by Teemu Aalto (Omnium Gatherum, Sergio etc) and mixed by the famous Anssi Kipppo (Lullacry, To/Die/For, Children of Bodom etc) in his Astia Studio so what can possibly go wrong there. Both Teemu/Anssi together with Mikka Jussila, who was responsible for the mastering, have totally understood the sound and managed to get out all of the sad, dark and most melancholic parts in the music to the extreme. The new year has barely begun and already I have one of the best goth metal albums of the year in my hand.
Track Listing

Follow Into The Cry
Crimson Leaf
Sleeping Away
Darkness Of Day
My Rain
Misery Carnival
A New Day
Drama For Two
The Art Of Regret


Mikko Heikkilä – lead vocals, guitar
Jarno Uski – bass
Miika Hostikka – drums
Tommi Muhli – guitar

Other reviews

» A New Day
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Sinbreed - Master Creator
Previous review: » Sin Heresy - The Spiders And The Butterfly

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.