Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Sin City Sinners
Exile On Fremont Street
March 2010
Released: 2010, AntiStar Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Erich

Sin City Sinners might be one of Las Vegas’s best kept secrets, at least to the larger world outside the capital of sin. The band is composed of former Faster Pussycat guitarist Brent Muscat, former Age of Electric guitarist/vocalist Todd Kerns, former Raging Slab drummer Rob Cournoyer, and bass player Mike Ellis. The band started out as a jam band, playing covers and mixing in originals, while developing a reputation for having famous guests sharing the stage with the band or hanging out at their shows. As the buzz surrounding the band grew, they decided to release a CD of original music and a couple of covers called EXILE ON FREMONT STREET, the title being a tribute to both Las Vegas and the Rolling Stones.

By most accounts, Sin City Sinners excel as a live band, and that comes across on their debut album. Comprised of 10 originals, a cover song, and a hidden track, the songs are simple, direct, and rocking; obviously optimized for live performances. That is not to say that the energy of the stage does not translate to some of the songs on the album, as opener “Numb” reveals with its driving opening riff and catchy chorus. “It’s Not You, It’s Me” is another tune that manages to highlight the bands groove-oriented convictions with an 80’s flair, making it a truly rocking song. The band’s faithful cover of Donny Iris’s 1980 hit “Ah Leah!” should leave no doubt as to which decade the band's heart resides. Despite some elements of 80s sleaze metal and rock, there is also enough modern sonics to appeal to a wider demographic than just aging hair metal fans, and the production is absolutely stunning in its clarity.

No doubt this is a professionally produced and executed album. Maybe it is just me, or maybe it is the too perfect recording that seems to suck some of the life and spontaneity out a few of the songs, but these are relatively minor complaints for what is an otherwise a fine album. I would definitely like to hear these songs played live, as that is probably the ideal format for this album. If straight-up rock n roll with an 80s tinge is your thing, by all means grab this album. I doubt you will be disappointed.
Track Listing

1. Numb
2. Turn It Up
3. It's Not You, It's Me
4. Ah Leah!
5. Arianna Incomplete
6. Blow Up Doll
7. BigTime Superstar
8. Gotta Girl
9. My True Love
10. Probable Cause
11. Goin To Vegas


Todd Kerns - Guitar/Vocals
Brent Muscat - Guitar
Rob Cournoyer - Drums
Michael Ellis - Bass

Other reviews

Next review: » Sin Heresy - The Spiders And The Butterfly
Previous review: » Simulacrum - Sky Divided

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.