Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Silent Force
January 2002
Released: 2001, InsideOut Music America
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Rick

This CD should really have been reviewed for last month but it came on the day that reviews were due so needless to say it wasn’t done. I have had this disc for about a month now so it has gotten a few listens and I have to say, its a great CD. This is the second release from Silent Force with the first disc being entitled THE EMPIRE OF THE FUTURE. The lineup is D.C. Cooper: vocals, Alex Beyrodt: guitars, Jurgen Steinmetz: bass, Andre Hilgers: drums and Torsten Rohre on keys. For those that don't know, D.C. Cooper is the former vocalist for Royal Hunt and was one of the finalists for the slot left open in Judas Priest when Rob Halford left. Alex Beyrodt has been around the block too. Most notably as guitarist in Sinner. Alex is also the producer of INFATUATOR and only hands over the reigns to Victor Smolski (Rage) to allow him to produce the vocals. What we get from Silent Force is a mixture of classic and powermetal with a small dose or prog thrown in for good measure.

Silent Force waste no time with intros and kick off the CD with the pounding title track. A great pounding track which sees Cooper scream his lungs out. For someone who wonders what Silent Force sound like, well this song sounds vaguely like Beyrodt’s last band Sinner only with the tempo kicked up a notch. Except for the keyboard passages it could be a forgotten Primal Fear track. "Fall Into Oblivion" keeps the tempo cruising in high gear. On this one Cooper reverts to more of a mid ranged voice which is more reminiscent of his other work with both Royal Hunt and solo. There is also a trilogy stuck right in the center of the album. This is considered the focal point of the disc by the band and revolves around the Roman Empire. It starts with the classsical intro "Cena Libera"composed by Victor Smolski which was recorded with the Bellorussian State TV and Radio Orchestra. "Gladiator" is up next and needs no explanation as everyone has seen the movie. The trilogy is closed out with "The Blade" which is a pounding double bass track with lots of swirling keyboards and an infectious chorus. The track wanders into almost progressive territory with a break down with about 2 minutes left and then just kicks back into gear and pounds its way to the end. There is even a standout ballad called "In Your Arms". Cooper gets help on this track from Finnish vocalist Inka Auhagen. She has such a powerful voice that it blends effortlessly with Cooper’s to create a standout song and one of the best ballads I have heard in awhile. Silent Force also pays homage to the band which D.C. almost joined, Judas Priest, by belting out a faithful rendition of the PAINKILLER classic "All Guns Blazing".

Listening to this CD I am almost glad that D.C. Cooper didn’t get the gig in Priest. If he had we probably would not have this great band. Cooper would be wasting away singing Tipton’s tired songs instead of these great metal tunes. I don’t know what more to say about this band other than to pick up INFATUATOR.

Track Listing






Other reviews

» Infatuator
by Rick

» Rising From Ashes
by JP

Next review: » Silent Force - Rising From Ashes
Previous review: » Silent Exile - Dancing with Death

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.