Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Silent Civilian
Rebirth of the Temple
February 2007
Released: 2006, Mediaskare
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: MetalChick

Silent Civilian is an example of when music and vocals take two different roads, one overpowering the other like a bully so the good cannot shine through. With music that can be compared to bands like Scar Symmetry, Shadows Fall, and Arch Enemy, the riffs crunch hard, the solos stand up as stellar, and the songs are thick with tight musicianship. What would be the vibrant heart and meat of every song is then overshadowed by the brutal screams that were surely chosen to be the main vocal style just to make the music sound, well, brutal. In the fashion of Scar Symmetry or even Into Eternity, clean vocals are woven in as well. It is during these moments that the songs come alive.

There is so little diversity that no song stands out above the rest as notable. At over an hour in total length with a handful of songs stretching into the six and seven minute mark, this lack of diversity makes an average time seem agonizingly long. In general, though, if the tight songwriting and clean vocals were utilized to their full potential, this could be a very good record. It is instead geared towards the fans of that brutal style.
Track Listing

1. Intro - Call to Arms
2. Funeral
3. The Song Remains Un-Named
4. Rebirth of the Temple
5. Divided
6. Bitter Pill
7. Force Fed
8. Lies in the House of Shame
9. Wrath
10. Dead to Me 2006
11. Blood Red Sky
12. Falling Down
13. Live Again


Jonny Santos - vocals/guitar
Chris Mora - drums
Disco - bass
David De La Cruz - guitar

Other reviews

» Rebirth of The Temple
by Lord of the Wasteland

» Rebirth of the Temple
by MetalChick

Next review: » Silent Exile - Dancing with Death
Previous review: » Silent Civilian - Rebirth of The Temple

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.