Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

December 2007
Released: 2007, Music Buy Mail/Artist WorkXX
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Shylock’s debut album was released in 2000 - one year after they were formed. The album got great response from the media and they’ve supported many famous acts like Bonfire, Gotthard, Jaded Heart, Udo, Axxis and Krokus. The band’s music has similarities with Bonfire, Jaded Heart and Fair Warning; the simplest way to describe it is straight-up in-your-face melodic hardrock. It might not be the trendiest music style around, but their fans love them and they have stayed true to their genre for several years, so they must be doing something right.

The only negative thing to say about the material is that the music is a little too melodic for me, but their joy and passion blows me away. The band has put some serious work into it and it shows. The songs are strong; they have catchy choruses and very strong melodies.

My personal favorites are “Things Like That”, “Ocean”, “Castaway”, “Anybody out There” and “I Wanna Live”; they’re the harder melodic hardrock tracks that stand out above the others. The guitars are on overdrive and balance on a fine line with keyboards. Most of the songs have potential to become on-stage favorites. The songs that don’t stand out as much are “U Feel”, “Again”, “New Attraction” and “Farewell (to the Champion)”. The first two are generic ballads with a lot of keyboards. The third track is a pure ballad which is not good at all and the last song is a tribute to the soccer player Tomas Hossler who is a German legend. Along with the tracks that bring down the rating I should also mention the absolutely awful cover artwork. I’m pretty sure this is the ugliest one I have ever seen in a really long time.

If you’re a fan of Shylock and similar bands and music I can guarantee you’ll have many hours of pleasant listening in front of you. Don’t be afraid of the cover; once you get past that the rest is brilliant.
Track Listing

1. Eternal Life
2. Things Like That
3. Music
4. U Feel
5. The Rain
6. Ocean
7. Castaway
8. Again
9. Hunting High and Low
10. Fading Memory
11. New Attraction
12. Anybody Out There
13. I wanna Live
14. Farewell (to the Champion)


Matthias Schenk – lead vocals
Johannes Löhr – guitar
Oliver Thiergärtner – keyboards
Steven Wussow – bass
Achim Thiergärtner – drums

Other reviews

» Devotion
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Sick Of It All - Based On A True Story
Previous review: » Shy - Shy

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.