Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Shed the Skin
Harrowing Faith
July 2016
Released: 2016, Hells Headbangers
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

Shed the Skin’s lineup reads like a “who’s who” of the Ohio death metal scene. Featuring current and former members of Estuary, Incantation, Acheron, Ringworm, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that their HARROWING FAITH debut is a totally sick slab of blasphemous, mid-western death metal.

The band’s bio makes the point to call out that HARROWING FAITH “does not bow to any one era, school, or region…” There’s definitely more traditional, blue collar death metal at the rotten soul of this beast, but the 12 tracks do a fine job of keeping things interesting without sacrificing any of the intended brutality. Opening with the ominous piano tinged “Plasmic Flames” intro, the band gets straight to business and rips through “Daimonic Adytum” and the title track in rapid succession. “Unbound Revenant” and “Cambion” spin the wheels of doom, delivering mid-tempo, Incantation-esque slogs, while “Warband Under the Baphomet” has some thrashier elements with its twin guitar runs. HARROWING FAITH clips by at a pretty loose pace, and makes the point of throwing as many punches as it can with the time it’s been allotted.

There’s nothing inherently special or different with the type of death metal that Shed the Skin purvey, it’s more a matter of what they do with those resources. But the combination of ugly production values, sinister riffs, and just a total lack of pretense together make for a pretty convincing package. And being a part of the Hells Headbangers family doesn’t hurt either; Shed the Skin’s brand of papacy defiling death metal is the perfect addition to their roster.
Track Listing

1. Plasmic Flames
2. Daimonic Adytum
3. Harrowing Faith
4. Putrid and Pious
5. Unbound Revenant
6. Warband Under the Baphomet
8. Alpha and Omega
9. Cambion
10. Inhuman Accretion
11. Innermost Sanctuary
12. Execration Divine


Ed Stephens - Bass
Kyle Severn - Drums
Matt Sorg - Guitars
Brian Boston - Keyboards
Ash Thomas - Vocals, Guitars

Other reviews

» Harrowing Faith
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Shepherd - The Coldest Day
Previous review: » sHEAVY - The Machine That Won The War (Ltd. edition)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.