Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Seven Thorns
Return To The Past
June 2011
Released: 2010, Nightmare Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Album #2 for these Danes and it’s a good one. Nightmare Records thought so as well as they picked up this independent band for their roster. I’m not thrilled about the bands name, with at least 2 dozen other bands named ‘Seven Something’ or Seventh Something’, but it’s a good traditional metal band name.

RETURN TO THE PAST is classic, textbook Power Metal and how to do it correctly. Short and sweet the 9 songs barely break 45 minutes with all of the songs being in the 4-5 minute mark. So you know you’ll hear fairly traditional compositions and arrangements; verse, chorus verse chorus solo chorus etc…

Highlights includes some really ripping neo-classically inspired soloing, like you might hear on an At Vance album, so it comes as little surprise that Olaf from At Vance contributes some solos. There are a goodly smattering of keyboards about the albums which complement the songs very well. Most of the album is pretty fast as well, lots of double kick drums and note-dense soloing from both keyboards and guitars.

Vocalist Blomkvist reminds me Englund (Evergrey) of singing in a mid to lower range with darker tones to his voice, unlike a ‘happy’ bright voice employed on many Italian Power Metal albums. He leads the songs with authority spinning traditional lyrics and the occasional higher note.

I really enjoy this album but I also feel deep down that this will be for purists and collectors of the Power Metal genre. Sure, I’d recommend it to most Metal fans but because of the bands adherence to the sonic and lyrical principles, people who aren’t open minded might not give them a fair shake. As these guys develop a greater identity they will be a force that will make them stand out from the massive pack of similar bands that many Metal fans don’t have the time or patience to wade through. I’m glad I took the time to check them out.
Track Listing

1. Liberty
2. End of the Road
3. Through the Mirror
4. Freedom Call
5. Countdown
6. Forest Majesty
7. Spread Your Wings
8. Fires and Storms
9. Return to the Past


Erik Blomkvist Vocals
Christian Balslev Strojer Guitars
Gabriel Tuxen Guitars
Nicolaj Marker Bass
Asger W. Nielsen Keyboards
Lars Borup Drums

Next review: » Seven Witches - Call Upon The Wicked
Previous review: » Seven Thorns - II

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.