Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Seven Tears
In Every Frozen Tear
December 2007
Released: 2007, Frontiers Records/Zink Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Seven Tears is a Swedish act formed by Cartemar and Lager at the beginning of 2000 under the name Demonslave. Many members joined and left before they settled down with a line up, which didn’t end up being the final line up. The band leaders renamed the band to Atlantica and recorded a self-titled demo but the band went through one more line up and musical change before they settled as Seven Tears. Their 2006 demo THE STORY UNFOLDS landed them a deal with Frontiers Records.

The band’s music style is dark, progressive, melodic metal with melodic hard rock influences. Imagine Evergrey meets Journey or Survivor - that’s how their music sounds. The members appear to be very young, but they are extremely talented musicians that execute their music with style. The singer sounds amazing and takes the material to a new level with his voice; if he ever leaves the band I think the band would be in trouble. The entire album is a feast of great material, catchy hooklines and strong choruses.

My favorite songs are “Twist of Fate”, “Faded Memory”, “Hollow Ground”, “In Every Frozen Tear”, “Sorrows” and “The Story Unfolds”. Those are the faster melodic metal songs that have incorporated progressive and dark parts into them. They also include some really heavy guitar riffs that are out of this world. I even find myself liking the keyboard-based songs.

IN EVERY FROZEN TEAR is a solid debut album; it’s not every day you get to hear such a brilliant first-time opus. These guys have both the ability and potential to get really far. This is a fresh and fun album from a band I hope to hear much more from in the future. IN EVERY FROZEN TEAR ought to appeal to every fan of both progressive metal as melodic hardrock. It’s great.
Track Listing

1. Twist of Fate
2. Faded Memory
3. Hollow Ground
4. Reflections
5. All Alone
6. In Every Frozen Tear
7. Sorrows
8. Prayer for the Dying
9. The Story Unfolds
10. Dream of Insanity
11. Fragments
12. Truth of Tomorrow


Zoran Djorem – lead vocals
Jonathan Carlemar – guitar
Kristofer von Wachenfeld – keyboards, b-vox
Fredrik Lager – bass
Michael Sjöö – drums

Other reviews

» In Every Frozen Tear
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Seven Thorns - II
Previous review: » Seven Sins - Diaboli Et Apocalypse

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.