Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

May 2003
Released: 2003, Spinefarm Records
Rating: 3.2/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Sethian was formed in 1988 by Wilska and Jussi Koponen who had previously played both in Nattvindens Grot and Wizzard. Relatively soon Marco Kautonen (second guitar) and Juuso Jalasmaki (bass) were added to the line-up, too, and the band recorded their 1st demo entitled THE DREAM DOMAIN, which was sent to the headquarters of Spinefarm Records, and which made the Spine–staff interested in them. Sethian was signed almost immediately by this famous Finnish metal label; a home of such successful metal bands as Nightwish, Children of Bodom and Sonata Arctica.

After being signed with Spinefarm, the band was still without any permanent drummer. This job was offered to Jukka Nevalainen (Nightwish) and he grabbed the opportunity right away. Also, Juuso Jalasmaki changed his 4-stringer to a 6-stringer soon and a new guy named Sam Silvennoinen was recruited to the line-up as a new bass player. As for a list of session musicians, Tuomas Holopainen from Nightwish was hired as a keyboard man - and both Janne Jarvensivu and Hanna Wilska stretched the capacity of their lungs as backing vocalists in some rehearsals before the forth-coming recordings for the band´s debut album. With this powerful line-up, the band recorded their debut album entitled INTO THE SILENCE at SundiCoop Studio during September and October 2002 here in Finland. This is all background info for all of you curious parties…

Musically, Sethian could be labeled a traditional metal band. The guys seem to have a good sense for some really tasteful melodies; Wilska´s vocals (also the new growler for Finntroll nowadays…) sound surprisingly great and strong; the songs have lots of great harmonies and an effortless and continuous flow of highly melodic sections. Everything seems to click into the right places in this puzzle and that´s basically what makes you a bit confused about it all. You can be actually rather certain about yourself that you have heard some of this stuff on INTO THE SILENCE somewhere before, in one form or the other. I don´t hesitate to spit it out, but Sethian´s debut contains some “faceless stuff.” It´s like they have no new stories to be shared with anyone as far as their sound is concerned. It lacks originality and, basically, all those vital elements that give you a good enough reason to pick it up over and over again from your music library for some serious spinning. Don´t read me totally wrong, however; this is all good, traditional metal stuff on INTO THE SILENCE, but it could be better if it didn´t suffer from a slight unoriginality and facelessness. Just try to think of Charon going toward more a traditional metal sound and you may some sort of an idea how Sethian sound! Now it´s your turn to find out if what I’m saying here is true…
Track Listing

01. Nothing Is True
02. Dream Domain
03. Love Under Will
04. Epitaph
05. Too Far Gone
06. Purity in Sorrow
07. Dead Reckoning
08. Magdalena
09. Heavens may Fall
10. Blood Calling
11. Call of the Wild
12. Into the Silence


Wilska – Vocals
Jussi Koponen – Guitar & backing vocals
Juuso Jalasmaki – Guitar & backing vocals
Marco Kautonen – Guitar
Sam Silvennoinen – Bass
Jukka Nevalainen - Drums

Other reviews

by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Seven Kingdoms - Brothers Of The Night
Previous review: » Sethery - KHOLERA

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.