Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Servants of the Mist
Gross Knowledge of Genital Mutilation
September 2014
Released: 2014, Self Released
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Tampa merchants of misery SERVANTS OF THE MIST will self-release Gross Knowledge of Genital Mutilation on June 24. Unlike most doom metal and sludge from the American South, the usual bluesy "stoner" trappings are virtually non-existent in the depressive, depraved and terrifyingly abrasive brand of funeral sludge/doom. The new digital EP is the

follow-up to last year’s well received Suicide Sex Pact EP.

The four track EP from Servants of the Mist is something new for the doom fan with it's variety solid twists that can only be described as something falling between a horror movie and an artistic torture pornographic movie. Withn something this adventurous there is space to explore and expand the usual gritty doom overtones that have held back a number of bands recently for “sameness”.

After the quick slime-laced introduction of “Sadism & Suffering” there are slow and thundering guttural growls from Richard Smyth, during “Undeserving” that places an infatuation into bowls of distress.

As the journey continues you're taken into a different dark world with haunting atmospheric guitar work.Found during “Commit Suicide” whose introduction is like a fact sheet before being punished for the actions of the songs characters. With the final track “Gross Knowledge of Genital Mutilation” the same slimey intro is used again but with a hungry smattering of greater horror, that leaves the listener faced with all out terror. It's hard to ignore the slow and steady bludgeoning that comprises the rest of the track!

There is something new within this troupe who bring with them characteristics of blackened and dark doom with the blasting brutal sludge that is a quick relief to the regular sounds that fans of the genre have become accustomed too.

The Ep is strong, well paced and and interesting listen.

Review by Ashlinn Nash
Track Listing

1. Sadism & Suffering
2. Undeserving
3. Commit Suicide
4. Gross Knowledge of Genital Mutilation


Ed Tobar- Guitar
Richard Smyth, Jr- Vocals
Kenny Nguyen- Guitar
Jason Kleim - Bass
Gordie Coop-Man - Drums
Brian Schille - Keys

Other reviews

» Gross Knowledge of Genital Mutilation
by UK Team

Next review: » Sesta Marconi - Where the Devil Dances
Previous review: » Serpentine Path - Serpentine Path

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.