Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Serious Black
September 2017
Released: 2017, AFM
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Serious Black comes at you with their third and very powerful release MAGIC. From what I looked up, it is the third album in just as many years. That says to me that they are either a very busy bunch of guys, or they just have that much good material built up that they need a release.

With MAGIC being my first listen of Serious Black, I do believe that it is a good one as it is now my understanding that the previous two releases are very good as well. When I come across a band I like, I usually pull one of those junkie moves and have to acquire all previous offerings. So glad there are only two with Serious Black.

So this is a concept album. I read the story line that I was sent and you’ll never guess what it entails. Yep! Magic. Magic, witchery, and fantasy all abound. I will not spoil the story any for you. It is one you need to check into yourself. As far as the music goes for those unfamiliar as I, it is not something that I would say strays from most other melodic power metal bands. All the tracks are very well written with very repetitive and catchy choruses. Yeah, the ones we all get caught singing along to in traffic. The vocals by Urban Breed are ‘out of this world’ good. It is no wonder why Serious Black have been causing quite a stir in the power metal community. What they do, they do very well.

MAGIC is a worthy listen over and over. If this genre is what you are into, you will surely dig Serious Black. Fans of Avantasia, Dream Evil, and Blind Guardian just to name a couple, will have a new favorite. As for myself, I need to go find the last two releases.
Track Listing

1. With a Tip of the Hat
2. Binary Magic
3. Burn! Witches Burn!
4. Lone Gunman Rule
5. Now You’ll Never Know
6. I Can Do Magic
7. Serious Black Magic
8. Skeletons on Parade
9. Mr. Nightmist
10. The Witch of Caldwell Town
11. True Love Is Blind
12. Just Kill Me
13. Newfound Freedom
14. One Final Song


Mario Lochert - Bass
Dominik Sebastian - Guitars
Jan Vacik - Keyboards
Urban breed - Vocals
Alex Holzwarth - Drums
Bob Katsionis – Guitars



Other reviews

» As Daylight Breaks
by Erich

» Mirrorworld
by Erich

» Magic
by John Haseltine

Next review: » Serious Black - Mirrorworld
Previous review: » Serious Black - As Daylight Breaks

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.