Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

July 2007
Released: 2007, Perris Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Chaosankh

It was twenty-five years ago that Sequel released their rocking, self-titled debut album. One year later, they wrapped up the writing and recording for a follow-up album, DAYLIGHT FRIGHT, but it took twenty years for those recordings to see the light of day as they disbanded before getting it out to the masses. The band is spearheaded by eighties veterans, Todd Jensen (David Lee Roth, Alice Cooper, Steve Perry, Paul Rodgers, Neal Schon, Hardline) on bass/vocals and Greg Georgeson (Tommy Tutone) playing lead guitar and sharing vocal duties. Together with the other two originals, David Wall on guitar and Grant Roholt on drums, Sequel returns with a brand new trip down a hard-rocking road left behind two decades ago.

Choosing a bare bones production rather than a glossy eighties style, the album is a nice exposition of the simple power of guitar, bass, and drums accompanied by melodic harmonies that give a real catchiness to each track. If you fondly remember when the rock scene was populated with bands pushing simple songs, with big hooks, and lyrics as cheesy as can be, this will be a welcome new addition to your library of music. Songs like the opener, “All Right All Right” and “Cherry Wine” are smooth rockers with choruses you will immediately latch onto. There is even a SHAKE YOUR MONEY MAKER-era, Rich Robinson-styled guitar tune, “What’s Wrong With You” that you will want to shuffle right along with. Unfortunately, there are a few moments that hearken back to the reason that this kind of music was forsaken. The big fluff of the chorus in “The Good Stuff” is just too ridiculous to be taken seriously in today’s hard rock community, reminding listeners of some of the most excruciating moments of eighties music. There is also a blah ballad, “The Best I Can” that is quite cringe worthy and a must skip.

Overall, though, the album is a praiseworthy taste of a nostalgic hard rock style that offers more good than bad. While these guys do little to forge their own path on the storied road of rock, they do provide willing listeners with a pleasant journey down a familiar road full of memorable choruses and some good times.
Track Listing

1. All Right All Right
2. Cherry Wine
3. The Good Stuff
4. Rock ‘n Roll Girl
5. The Best I Can
6. You Don’t See Me
7. What’s Wrong With You
8. Lie To Me
9. Heart On The Line
10. Hard Love


Todd Jensen – Vocals and Bass
Greg Georgeson – Vocals and Lead Guitar
David Wall – Guitar
Grant Roholt – Drums

Other reviews

by Chaosankh

Next review: » Seraphim - Ai
Previous review: » Seputus - Man Does Not Give

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.