Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Purulent Reality
October 2010
Released: 2010, n/a
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

There is something to be said for consistency in a band’s career, especially in the early days. Some bands have the same line up for their entire career; others are like our current group here, England’s Sectioned. Sectioned only formed in 2006 and yet their Metal Archives page lists seven – seven! – former members. This likely explains why the band has just released their debut album despite existing for four years.

As you might guess from the band name and album title, Sectioned are a death metal band, through and through. In fact, you could say that where the band doesn’t seem to have line up consistency, they sure as hell do have it in their music because PURULENT REALITY is North American death metal through and through with no frills whatsoever. The songs blast away with the typical growls over top, and the sound is effective in its old-school mentality, but nothing really stands out either. This is odd given that Sectioned go for what must be called a more “progressive” death metal. This is NOT technical death metal, and thank Satan for that, but most of the songs on the album are between 5 and 7 minutes long, giving the band plenty of time to spread their musical wings and try out some song structures that you normally wouldn’t find in your typical death metal song. Despite this, all of the songs still sound like nothing more than longer versions of run of the mill death metal.

Make no mistake, PURULENT REALITY is far from a bad album, but it doesn’t stand out from the crowd either. There may not be anything new to hear, but if you are in the mood for a fresh blast of classic-sounding death metal, Sectioned will serve you well.
Track Listing

1) A Lonely Grasp of Winter
2) My Love of Decay
3) Loneliest Man
4) Behind My Eyes
5) Mirrors
6) Village of the Sun
7) Purulent Reality (Outro)


The M: Vocals
Zoltan Valter: Guitar
Robin Eaglestone: Bass
Pete Christopher: Drums

Other reviews

» Purulent Reality
by Waspman

Next review: » Sedna - Self Titled
Previous review: » Section A - Parallel Lives

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.