Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Sean Malone
March 2008
Released: 2007, The Laser's Edge / Intromental
Rating: 1.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Bass player Sean Malone is maybe best known to the masses for his membership in the death metal bands Cynic and Gordian Knot. When Cynic was laid to rest in 1996, Malone took the opportunity to record his first solo album on a small label. Due to bad promotion, the album was scarce and because of that it’s now a cult classic album. It’s now being re-released with bonus tracks as well as a new digipack design. Malone gets help from the Cynic member Sean Reinert on drums and guitar player Bob Bunin. Guest musicians are Reeves Gabriel (David Bowie) and Trey Gunn (King Crimson) that both handle the guitar playing.

CORTLANDT is an instrumental album and the bio states that the music is a crossover between metal, jazz, rock and progressive fusion music which is a description that’s totally wrong. This is nothing but a mix of progressive fusion rock and jazz; there’s no metal at all involved anywhere.

The focus is set on bass and the rest of the instruments just tag-along. I can’t deny that Malone is a genius on bass, but it gets quite boring only listening to a bass guitar that plays a weird mix of odd genres. In the long run it gets really boring and this album must mainly reach for the devoted bass players out there or suckers for Malone’s bass playing.

10 tracks are featured on this album that clocks in at 45 minutes but feels much longer. It feels like I’m in an elevator listening to muzak for 45 minutes straight and believe me, that’s not a happy feeling. This might be fun for devoted fans but I get a headache when there’s no sign of a singer anywhere on the album. I found no joy whatsoever listening to CORTLANDT, but you might find it somewhere on the album.
Track Listing

1. Controversy
2. Splinter
3. Fischer’s Gambit
4. Handful of Earth
5. Sinfonia
6. Giant Steps
7. At Taliesin
8. Big Shy Wanting
9. The Big Idea
10. Unquity Road (bonus Track)


Sean Malone – bass, programming, loops
Sean Reinert – drums
Bob Bunin – guitar
Trey Gunn – guitar

Other reviews

» Cortlandt
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Seance - Awakening Of The Gods
Previous review: » Seabury, Steve - Mosh Potatoes (Book Review)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.