Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Scent of Flesh
The Roaring Depths Of Insanity
May 2003
Released: 2002, Black Lotus
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

It is time for a little round-up of some of the release from late 2002 on the respected Greek label, Black Lotus. Known for championing extreme styles over the years they have unleashed another four releases which I will touch on each briefly. They include new discs by The Duskfall, Scent of Flesh, Greek Black Metal super-group Thou Art Lord and the return of Horrified! To learn more about this label and it’s quality stable of extreme artists visit

Another one of the rare European signings to Black Lotus who seem to be spreading their black wings across the continent! Scent of Flesh with their kind of odd name are from Finland and have five members who in tandem present some crushing classic death metal.

The logo is virtually unreadable, harkening back to the days when that was the predominant style for death metal logos! The layout and design are pretty standard but include lyrics a few notes and a shot of each band member. Lyrically the band cover almost no new ground. We get songs about being buried alive, butchering things, cannibalism the standard death metal topics. They are not that amazing or innovatively lyrically but it is good to see a young band pay respect to the standards of the genre.

I like these guys, the energy, the musicianship but they have the feel of just another death metal band. They understand the genre and do it very well and even the songs are decent but there seems to be that missing ingredient that would put them into the league of the ‘mainstream’ death metal bands like Cannibal Corpse, Six Feet Under, Immolation. The other option is to crank up the brutality and gore a notch and get driven back deeper into the sick underground with Severe Torture and bands of that ilk.

A very promising and solid start and all fans of Death Metal should give them a try and you can start by visiting the web-site at
Track Listing

1. Cursed To Suffer
2. Eternity In Torment
3. Dark Years of Carnage
4. Witness My Madness
5. Drowned Into The Darkness
6. Rotten, shattered, Burned and Spoiled
7. Feed The Greed
8. Beneath The Tombstones
9. Towards Eternal Lost
10. Reign In Violent Perfection.


Niko Ahokas-Vocals
Matti Viisainen-Guitar
Herkko Miiki-Guitar
Sofian Gezuri-Bass
Antti Ahokas-Drums



Other reviews

by Luxi Lahtinen

by Luxi Lahtinen

» The Roaring Depths Of Insanity
by JP

» Deform in Torture
by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Scent of Flesh - VALOR IN HATRED
Previous review: » Scent of Flesh - ROARING DEPTHS OF INSANITY

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.