Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Scar Symmetry
The Unseen Empire
July 2011
Released: 2011, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Hailing from Sweden a mecca for melodic death metal and on a quest to pioneer their own form of that well-established genre, Scar Symmetry proved to be an exceptional gathering of talents able to produce an eccentric mixture of metal that can only be described as an intoxicating, modern hybrid of melodic death metal. Encapsulating everything each band member loves about metal harmony, melody, brutality, exceptional songwriting, complex instrumentation - this union of Yin/Yang elements lent itself to Scar Symmetry blueprint of amalgamation in their quest to make unbridled music devoid of borders.

“The Anomaly” introduces us just part of quality that’s on offer with this album. Its starts off with some great guitar work, catchy beat and lyrics. Soaring vocals combing guttural growls, the album is off to a great start. “Illuminoid Dream Sequence” &. “Extinction Mantra “takes us on a more melodic journey whilst still retaining the heavy feel and growls.

“Seers Of The Eschaton” is more death metal feel to it. It is one of my favourites on the album. It contains some tantalising technical guitar work along roaring lyrics and force. “Domination Agenda” & “Astronomicon” goes back to the slightly softer style whilst still packing a very powerful punch. “Rise Of The Reptilian Regime” another superb track with lilting lyrical chorus that is followed with a crescendo of guitars. “The Draconian Arrival” & “Alpha And Omega” both finish off the album in glorious style.

The Unseen Empire is an outstanding album and Scar Symmetry continues to go from strength to strength with ever album they produce. With their trademark clear cut vocals coupled with deep penetrating growls, astonishing solos, rocking riffs, solid bass and drums.

This album has it all, now go listen to it!

Review by Shelia Hamilton
Track Listing

1.The Anomaly
2.Illuminoid Dream Sequence
3.Extinction Mantra
4.Seers Of The Eschaton
5.Domination Agenda
7.Rise Of The Reptilian Regime
8.The Draconian Arrival
9.Alpha And Omega


Roberth Karlsson - Vocals
Per Nilsson - Guitars
Henrik Ohlsson - Drums
Lars Palmqvist - Vocals
Jonas Kjellgren - Guitars
Kenneth Seil - Bass


Next review: » Scare Tactics - Legion
Previous review: » Scar Symmetry - Symmetric In Design

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.