Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Let Me Feel Your Power
January 2017
Released: 2016, UDR Music
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

There has been a huge amount of great live albums released in 2016, so I thought I would close off the year by reviewing a few of the more recent ones in a mini-feature. So, sit back, grab a warm beverage and feel free to enjoy live tunes by Night Ranger, Tesla, In Flames, and Saxon.

Esteemed NWOBHM survivors Saxon are no strangers (in the night) when it comes to live releases. It sometimes feels like the band releases one, or even two, live albums in between each studio album. That said, whether it’s a DVD, acoustic release, or something else, the band always tries to give value for the fan. Which brings me to LET ME FEEL YOUR POWER; a 2-disc, over 2-hour extravaganza that includes two complete shows, plus some extra tracks. If you feel the need for some Saxon music, you’ll definitely get your fill here.

As I said, there are two full shows offered up here. The first disc is a live set recorded in Munich, Germany, plus 3 extra cuts recorded in England. The second disc is another set recorded in Chicago. All three shows were recorded on the band’s recent tour for the BATTERING RAM album so factor that in, as well as the obligatory classic songs, and there is a significant amount of overlap in the set lists.

With that said, the band puts in typically great performances throughout each show. Saxon’s known for giving their all on stage and these sets are merely further proof of that well-earned reputation. The guitar wizardry of Quinn and Scarratt is well-developed and beyond reproach, the Glockler/Carter rhythm section is as tight and hammering as ever, and somehow Biff Byford’s vocal prowess doesn’t seem to lessen with age. Perhaps it’s the way the band sprinkles in new cuts like “Battering Ram”, “Queen of Hearts”, “Devil’s Footprint” to challenge themselves that help keep them sounding young? Either way, they deliver yet again.

Even so, nearly 2.5 hours is a lot to take in one sitting, especially with the repetition in tracks. LET ME FEEL YOUR POWER is best taken in parts, one disc at a time. Saxon kills on stage, and this is just further proof of their power.
Track Listing

Disc 1:
1. Battering Ram (Live in Munich)
2. Motorcycle Man (Live in Munich)
3. Sacrifice (Live in Munich)
4. Destroyer (Live in Munich)
5. Power and the Glory (Live in Munich)
6. 20,000 FT (Live in Munich)
7. Devil’s Footprint (Live in Munich)
8. Heavy Metal Thunder (Live in Munich)
9. Queen of Hearts (Live in Munich)
10. Princess of the Night (Live in Munich)
11. Wheels of Steel (Live in Munich)
12. Denim and Leather (Live in Munich)
13. Crusader (Live in Munich)
14. Eye of the Storm (Live in Brighton)
15. Battalions of Steel (Live in Brighton)
16. Requiem (Live in Brighton)

Disc 2:
1. Motorcycle Man (Live in Chicago)
2. Battering Ram (Live in Chicago)
3. This Town Rocks (Live in Chicago)
4. Sacrifice (Live in Chicago)
5. Power and the Glory (Live in Chicago)
6. Solid Ball of Rock (Live in Chicago)
7. Dallas 1 PM (Live in Chicago)
8. Heavy Metal Thunder (Live in Chicago)
9. Rock the Nations (Live in Chicago)
10. The Eagle Has Landed (Live in Chicago)
11. Wheels of Steel (Live in Chicago)
12. Backs to the Wall (Live in Chicago)
13. Just Let Me Rock (Live in Chicago)
14. Strong Arm of the Law (Live in Chicago)
15. 747 (Strangers in the Night) (Live in Chicago)
16. Princess of the Night (Live in Chicago)
17. Crusader (Live in Chicago)
18. Denim and Leather (Live in Chicago)


Biff Byford: Vocals
Paul Quinn: Guitar
Doug Scarratt: Guitar
Nibbs Carter: Bass
Nigel Glockler: Drums



Next review: » Saxon - Lionheart
Previous review: » Saxon - Killing Ground

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.