Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

October 1999
Released: 1999, Swarmusic
Rating: 3.2/5
Reviewer: Nathan Robinson

In my review of Metal Church's "Masterpeace", I alluded to the fact that it would be great to see the reformation of Death Angel. Well, of course that's highly unlikely. What we do get, however, is Swarm. This band consists of three former Death Angel members! I know…The Organization had FOUR ex-Death Angel members, and they sucked, right? Well, The Organization WAS very disappointing, seeing that "Act III" was such a thrash MASTERPIECE. But, I did like The Organization…with their self-titled debut being far better than "Savor the Flavor".

The interesting thing with Swarm is the return of ex-Death Angel vocalist Mark Osegueda!!! He's been quiet for far too long! Swarm's lineup is completed by guitarist Rob Cavestany and drummer Andy Galeon (both ex-Death Angel…duh!) and bassist Michael Isaiah. This self-released four song (demo?) CD just came out of nowhere. I remember reading about this band months ago but all's been quiet until now. Their musical direction is far from thrash, and is a step forward from The "O". I hear different styles ranging from metal, blues, funk, and just the slightest touch of jazz. So once in a while I'm reminded of "Frolic Through the Park" while listening to this CD. The metal side of the disc resembles The "O" more than Death Angel though…with the riffs being more straightforward and accessible. And sometimes I'm even reminded of Infectious Grooves.

Yes, this CD is disappointing. I say this because I'm a huge Death Angel fan and would cry in joy if they ever reformed. I was hoping Swarm would be a return to thrash, seeing that The "O" was regarded as "trash" by many, and the current state of metal sees a return of thrash. But getting past this, Swarm does have something to offer: a fresh sound. What really makes this CD worthwhile, at least for me, are Mark's vocals. I will always respect his voice, as I think he's one of the best vocalists of all time. Proof lies in "Act III". Another thing that stands out on this disc is Rob's guitar work. He presents lots of styles, and every song has a tasty lead, which I believe is a definite must for this kind of groovalistic music. Approach this CD if you're looking for something new that'll make you get up and move, and do so with an open mind. Hell, this CD only costs $5, so take a chance!! Visit the Swarm web site for more information on the band and how to get a CD:
Track Listing






Other reviews

» Swarm
by Nathan Robinson

» Beyond The End
by Lord of the Wasteland

by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Swarp - Omines Pestilentiae
Previous review: » Swarm - BEYOND THE END

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.