Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Earthquake Machine
April 2005
Released: 2005, Independent
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Back in 2003, New York City’s Supervillain surprised the shit out of me with their self-titled debut EP. That disc was jammed with mid-paced, groovy stoner metal/hardcore, topped off with some passionate vocals. The disc was a definite eye-opener and I looked forward to hearing more. Fast forward a year and drummer Louie Gasparro tells me that the band is putting the finishing touches on their debut full-length, EARTHQUAKE MACHINE. I couldn’t wait to hear it. Jump ahead another couple of (impatient) months, and said album finally arrives in my mailbox. I eagerly rip off the packaging and toss it in the CD player and…

…am suitably blown away! Supervillain pick up exactly where they left off on the debut, and forge full speed ahead, despite the loss of key member Tim Grove (replaced by the coolly-named Blue Wilding). Seriously, “Show ‘Em All” could have easily fit into the groovy stoner-isms of old, but “Nevermore” adds some very cool classic rock influences into the mix, as the song pounds along like a heavied up Mountain track. Don’t know why that particular band jumps to mind, but suffice it to say that “Nevermore” is a definite highlight. Skip ahead and we find that the band has taken my advice (OK, so I give myself too much credit) and has varied things up a bit, compared to the relatively same-y debut. You’ve got the dark and brooding “Drowning”, a downright bouncy beat in “Prey to Me”, and a downright cutting “Line On You”. Also, the band have cut back a bit on the hardcore influences (believe me, do NOT confuse this with metalcore – it’s anything but) and have gone in a more traditional metal/stoner direction, to excellent results.

Believe me when I tell you – Supervillain is for real! These guys are definite up-and-comers, and this disc proves that they have every intention of capitalizing on their potential. Get in on the ground floor, ‘cause this band is going up!
Track Listing

1. Show ‘Em All
2. Nevermore
3. Line On You
4. You Ain’t Got a Prayer
5. Altar Ego
6. Drowning
7. Vicious Cycle
8. Prey to Me
9. Low Life
10. Hit the Road


Morgan Adams: Vocals
Louie Gasparro: Drums
J. Nicholas: Bass
Mike Mirabella: Guitars
Blue Wilding: Guitars

Other reviews

» Supervillain
by Waspman

» Earthquake Machine
by Waspman

Next review: » Supervillain - Supervillain
Previous review: » SuperSonic Brewer - Overthrow the Bastard

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.