Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Stampin’ Ground
A New Darkness Upon Us
November 2003
Released: 2003, Century Media
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

The first thing they did on record was an MCD called STAMPIN’ GROUND that came in 1996, followed a year later by the debut DEMONS RUN AMOK and after that they have released another MCD and two albums. The last album came in 2000 under the name CARVED FROM EMPTY WORDS .and now it’s time for a new release. Stampin Ground have toured as an opening act with a lot of big bands like Sepultura, The Haunted, Hatebreed and Biohazard.

The new album is produced by the very well known demon-producer Andy Sneap (Arch Enemy, Testament, Machine Head etc) who has done a real great job with the production. I have no info on what studio they used or who has written the music and lyrics. I only have a promo copy so I only have the titles of the songs. This is also my first acquaintance with this English band so I can’t say so much about the bands musical development trough the years.

All of the guys in the band have grown up with hardcore/metal music so naturally they started to play a mix of hardcore/metal music. Their music has some similarities with Biohazard and the later Machine Head, but Stampin’ Ground is more metal influenced than Biohazard in my opinion. They play hardcore/metal with a lot of guitars and lead vocals high up in the mix and the music is very hard and angry. Partly it’s very aggressive metal and I think that there’s some influences of old school thrash metal in the music. The album contains 12 tracks and one intro. Adam has a very aggressive song style that fits the music perfectly, Scott/Anthony do some really nice twin guitar play and Neil impresses behind his drums.

Stampin’ Grounds latest effort is a very tempo changing well-played hardcore/metal album. They have a very competent lead singer as well as very competent musicians that know what they’re doing. This is a strong album straight through. There’s nothing bad to say about this at all. I’m very impressed by them and I strongly recommend this album. If you’re a fan of Biohazard and Machine Head this is worth a look.
Track Listing

A new darkness upon us – intro
Don’t need a reason to hate
Behind the light
Killer of society
Dead from the neck up
The cage
Bear the scars
Betrayal has a face
Pain is weakness (leaving the body)
Unmarked grave
Ashes to scatter
Mantra of a dying world – outro


Adam Frakes-Sime – lead vocals
Scott Atkins –guitar
Anthony “Mobs” Mowbray – guitar
Ian Glasper – bass
Neil Hutton – drums

Other reviews

» A New Darkness Upon Us
by EvilG

» A New Darkness Upon Us
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Stan Bush - Dream the Dream
Previous review: » Stampin’ Ground - A New Darkness Upon Us

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.