Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

December 2014
Released: 2014, Prosthetic Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

True to their name - an abbreviation for Short Sharp Shock - Liverpool, England's, SSS don't waste any time messing around. Echoing the likes of Discharge/The Exploited, DRI, Sacred Reich and older model Napalm Death - at least musically - SSS play with a dogged urgency that rarely stops to take a breath, offering a snub-nosed dose of old school thrash, hardcore/punk and grindcore mashed together in a crossover blend that hits in quick, controlled bursts.

The band's fourth album Limp.Gasp.Collapse doesn't quite take things to the ridiculous extremes of 2011's Problem To The Answer - which crammed 25 tracks into its 41 or so minutes, including eight that clocked in at under a minute. But it's still a barn-burner, blasting and hammering through 13 of its 14 songs in a brisk 27 minutes, until it concludes with the droning but rather monumental 10-minute slog of “Crushed By Drudgery” that recalls Napalm during their late-'90s “experimental” phase.

Despite the frantic pace of the material - made all the moreso by the breathless diatribes of curiously named frontman Foxy - SSS have a real knack for crunchy, blunt-instrument hooks and meaty, driving rhythms, so nearly all of the songs make an impression instead of flying by in a blur. Even the here-and-gone likes of “Pig Owned,” “The Sleeper Awakes” and “Burn All Fields” - at less than a minute each - connect on the strength of Stu Taylor's lock-step guitar rabble. For all of its fury, Limp.Gasp.Collapse is a surprisingly catchy album – relatively speaking.

The band get a hand here from Carcass' Jeff Walker, who scatters his scabrous background vocals throughout the album, bringing a nightmarish sort of “worse cop” emphasis to Foxy's already unrelenting “bad cop” griping. So there is still plenty of ugliness to be found here.

SSS certainly don't break any new ground on Limp.Gasp.Collapse. But they've taken something old, stomped their own, well, stamp onto it and deliver the material like there's not tomorrow. And that's plenty good enough here.
Track Listing

1. For Your Own Good
2. Dead Wood
3. Burn All Fields
4. Shape OF Things To Come
5. The Sleeper Awakes
6. Stress Of Excess
7. Inside The Box
8. Pig Owned
9. Beige
10. Power Down
11. Slave To Persuasion
12. Good Books
13. Capacity Overload
14. Crushed By Drudgery


Foxy - vocals
Stu Taylor - guitar
Mark Magill - bass
Dave Archer - drums

Other reviews

» Short Sharp Shock
by Lord of the Wasteland

» Limp.Gasp.Collapse
by Peter Atkinson

Next review: » SSS - Short Sharp Shock
Previous review: » Srodek - Förfall

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.